Sweater #10 = Done

I cannot believe I’m posting about the tenth sweater I have finished in 2017. First of all, I cannot believe I had so much yarn in my stash. Second of all, in the past I’ve always made one or two sweaters a year. Since I’ve moved to Spain I’ve added 14 sweaters to my wardrobe and 3 to José’s. It may seem like I’m a totally selfish knitter, but José actually has in total eight sweaters I’ve made for him. When I lived in the US I didn’t knit any sweaters for myself and they were all his. Once, I tried to knit a sweater for myself when I was living in the US and José talked me into giving it to him when it was finished. Another good rationalization is that I am the person doing the knitting and buying the yarn, so my hard work and investment makes me deserving of having more sweaters. Zero guilt.

The other exciting thing is that this sweater-wearing season I am going to debut a lot of sweaters. I finished most of my stuff in the “off-season.” I’m totally going to slum the knitting club this year.

Anyway, about the purple cardigan.

I decided I wanted a ton of buttons so I made 18 button holes that would fit around medium-sized buttons. The reason for having so many buttons on this cardigan is so I can change its look depending on how big or small I get this winter. At the moment for some weird reason I’m actually getting smaller. For example, remember the “Up and Down Crunch Sweater” I crocheted and designed? It fit me with zero ease about a month ago. Now it would fit me with 2″ of ease. Anyway, I’ve digressed. The buttons were a totally lucky find at the Chinese bazaar (that’s like a dollar store). In total they cost me about €1.75. They’re just the right color and they’re plastic so they’ll survive the washing machine nicely. The yarn I used was the discontinued Cascade 220 Superwash Quatro I bought four years ago or so. The “pattern” I “followed” was for the top-down raglan sweater in The Knitter’s Handy Book of Top-Down Sweaters by Ann Budd. I actually didn’t follow the directions exactly. I included the button bands in with the body of the sweater and I increased at the neckline gradually rather than casting on stitches all at once. I put moss stitch on the yoke and did the rest of the body in stockinette, which was extremely boring. I don’t think I’ll knit stockinette stitch flat ever again unless I somehow make a bad decision a second time!

I still have yarn left over from this project. Two skeins to be exact. I’ll have to figure out what to do with them. I’m pondering the One-Skein Wonders books.

I’m still not wearing my handmade sweaters, unfortunately. It’s October and unusually hot. Every day this week and next it will be 80 degrees F.

20 thoughts on “Sweater #10 = Done

  1. nothingbutknit2 October 13, 2017 / 2:46 pm

    Gorgeous sweater! I love all the buttons. You are going to be the best dressed everywhere you go, once the weather cooperates:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. quietwatercraft October 13, 2017 / 4:08 pm

    It’s brilliant! And well done on managing 10 before we’re even at the end of the year! That’s impressive

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp October 20, 2017 / 1:52 am

      Thanks! It seems to be a fluke because I’ve shocked myself. I’m evidently in a sweater mode. The unfinished afghans are very displeased.

      Like

  3. claire93 October 13, 2017 / 4:14 pm

    I love this cardie, Tony! I’ve actually been looking at a woman’s sweater pattern, with what looks like moss stitch on the top part and around the bottom, with stockingette for the main body, and I love the overall effect, even if you did get bored knitting yours.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp October 13, 2017 / 5:12 pm

      It’s a case where the end is more exciting than the means! And thanks! I think it would be more fun to have more moss stitch, don’t you?

      Liked by 1 person

      • claire93 October 13, 2017 / 6:14 pm

        well no, I like it the way it is, actually, with the yoke in contrast to the main body.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Kate October 13, 2017 / 7:01 pm

    What a gorgeous sweater, I just love the colour!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anita October 14, 2017 / 5:24 am

    That’s a lot of buttons, and I totally love the look! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp October 14, 2017 / 3:11 pm

      Thanks! Yes, lots of buttons, but I tried it out and the ability to button it where necessary totally helps.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. knitigatingcircumstances October 14, 2017 / 12:00 pm

    First, I agree that we knitters should not succumb to sweater guilt. We knit for people we love and we knit for ourselves: no counting allowed. Second, this is a fantastic purple! I hope it cools off soon so you can wear it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp October 14, 2017 / 3:10 pm

      Thanks! So glad you have the same sweater beliefs as me! Also, we can always give them away later if we tire of them!

      Like

  7. Tami October 18, 2017 / 12:39 pm

    It’s been SweaterPalooza all year for you!!! I really like all the buttons and that’s such a great idea for size control! Isn’t it funny how there always seems to be a shadow of guilt about making something for yourself. I do this all the time. I’ve been getting better about becoming a selfish crocheter but I will still always put a project for someone else before something for myself. I need to designate a “Make it for Me” month. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp October 18, 2017 / 12:45 pm

      Thanks! Just yesterday I ordered some wool to make José a sweater, so my last sweater of the year will be for him. I can’t knit all the things for myself when there are appreciative wearers around me!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

