Better late than never

It’s Thursday morning. I don’t think it’s too late to share a WIP. Wednesdays for me are not ideal for blogging because I have a lot to do at work.

I finished the knitting on my purple cardigan and I washed it. Now I’m very gradually sewing the buttons onto it. With any luck I’ll have an FO Friday post about it if I can manage to get motivated to sew more buttons.

While the cardigan was drying, on the weekend, I cast on “St. Enda,” a by now classic Alice Starmore design. It looks so complicated! Forgive the bad photo, please, I have to figure out what went wrong with my camera.

IMG_1561

The reality is: no, it isn’t as difficult to knit as it looks. First of all, you can mostly knit without a cable needle. The only place where you need a cable needle is when there’s a fancy maneuver to cross the stitches out of order. Second of all, the sand stitch on either end of the sweater is very basic and not at all difficult to execute from memory. The honeycomb panels are also easy to do from memory. I only look at the chart for the Celtic knot panels and by now only superficially. I just follow where the purl stitches wind up on every right-side row. That’s the nice thing about making traveling stitches that are almost always paired with purl stitches. You always know that the purls are the background so you can easily figure out where the knit stitches wind up. That’s why I only have to follow where the purls are shifted to on the chart.

My favorite thing about this pullover, besides the bold Celtic knot, is the ribbing. It’s all cabled. The same happens for the collar. It’s just refreshing to knit up a ribbing that isn’t 1 x 1 or 2 x 2. I’ve waited twenty years or so to knit something designed by Alice Starmore. It won’t be the last time, that’s for sure. I suspect that I’m going to get into an Alice Starmore “mode” of sorts. I have many of her books and there are quite a few sweaters – including a really nice gansey – that I want to make for myself. The only problem is that I need to be a little less selfish and knit at least one for José. I know he wants a light blue sweater, so I’m planning my next project with him in mind. I’m trying to decide between two sweaters, one of them by Starmore and another by a different designer. We shall see! First, I should probably get this sweater done, right?

10 thoughts on “Better late than never

  1. quietwatercraft October 12, 2017 / 12:02 pm

    It’s never too late to share a WIP, especially one as gorgeous as that. Celtic knots are my favourite so I’m already completely in love.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp October 12, 2017 / 12:18 pm

      Awww. Thanks so much!

      Like

  2. nothingbutknit2 October 12, 2017 / 1:39 pm

    Oh that sweater is going to be amazing! I just love cables. I am looking forward to watching you knit Alice Starmore patterns. She has designed some real beauties.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp October 12, 2017 / 2:09 pm

      They’re really amazing designs. For some reason I did not appreciate their originality when I bought the books but now just about every Starmore pattern I see just drips originality all over. It’s all in the details and the interesting ways to increase and decrease on the cables. I’m so glad you’ll be watching.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. lawlovely October 12, 2017 / 3:22 pm

    Love this! The design is truly amazing. After seeing your past pics of your sweaters, I finally got the courage to start a sweater for my husband.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp October 12, 2017 / 3:29 pm

      I’m so glad you got inspired. I can’t wait to see the sweater you’re making!

      Like

  4. Kate October 13, 2017 / 1:04 am

    Wow, this is beautiful! I can’ t wait to see it when it’s completed!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anita October 13, 2017 / 5:32 am

    I love the pattern, especially the cabled rib – you’re right, it’d be such a welcome change to knit a ‘fancy’ ribbing for once!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

