Purple cardigan on a WIP Wednesday

I’ve been knitting away at my purple top-down cardigan. I’m almost done with the body and then I can get going on the sleeves.

IMG_1558

I haven’t knit stockinette stitch flat in years. Wow, is it boring! I really made a push on it over the weekend to try and get it all over with. I almost made it to the bottom, but not quite. I wanted a sort of plain cardigan and I’m getting one, it’s just I have to make a real effort not to yawn while knitting and purling back and forth.

16 thoughts on “Purple cardigan on a WIP Wednesday

  1. nothingbutknit2 September 27, 2017 / 3:40 pm

    Your sweater looks great! What you need is a couple of good long movies to help you through the rest:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp September 27, 2017 / 4:25 pm

      Thank you! I’ve been rewatching Fringe. Two entire seasons got me to this point. I only have to knit 8 more rows and I can get the sleeves over with. But, circular stockinette doesn’t irk me so much. For once I’ll think the sleeves are fun.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. IamDWJ September 27, 2017 / 4:59 pm

    Ugh I’m with you. I’m knitting a sweater and I’m bored even in the round with all the stockinette. 16 inches is making me yawn just thinking about it. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp September 27, 2017 / 5:57 pm

      TV, film, or book is what helps, always!

      Like

  3. claire93 September 27, 2017 / 8:21 pm

    okay, I can understand you getting bored just with knit and purl, but just concentrate on that gorgeous colour!!! Purple! my absolute favourite . . . would match my specs frames and even my car lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tami September 27, 2017 / 9:13 pm

    Great color! I usually run out of steam on sweaters when it comes time to add the sleeves, that’s when I really need to push myself to finish it. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anita September 28, 2017 / 4:58 am

    That’s a gorgeous color. I’m surprised you don’t find knitting in the round as boring as plain flat stockinette, but glad that’ll get you through the sleeves – for me, they’re the most boring part.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp September 28, 2017 / 1:16 pm

      It’s less boring because it’s faster for me. Purling slows me down.

      Like

      • Anita September 28, 2017 / 2:07 pm

        Ah purling – I get it now. I’m equally slow with knits so it didn’t occur to me. 😂

        Like

  6. MrsCraft September 29, 2017 / 12:18 am

    I get you with the stocking stitch, I found that hard when I made a child sized cardigan! I found a good box set on Netflix helped.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mr Knitter October 10, 2017 / 2:06 pm

    Totally agree with plain garter and stocking stitch, it’s like pulling teeth. I prefer patterns, the more complex the better, keeps me going. I have started so many projects and given up due to sheer boredom. Looking forward to seeing the completed item.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp October 10, 2017 / 5:29 pm

      It’s almost done! I’m procrastinating putting the buttons on.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

