Pineapple Shawl: WIP SMACKDOWN

Actually, I finished and blocked the pineapple shawl I was crocheting last Saturday. Another WIP has been smacked off my list of in-progress projects.

By the way, you may not know this, but if you wash something and lay it out flat to dry, you block. So, if you do this activity to your knit and crochet projects, please don’t tell me you don’t block. It is not necessary to get out a bazillion pins and fuss with your finished project for 50 hours to block something. When I wet block, I hardly ever have the need or urge to pin the living daylights out of my project. I didn’t do that for this shawlette, either. I washed it and while it was wet I laid it out flat on a towel to dry, smoothing out the wrinkles and making sure the pineapples all looked the same size.

It is so much easier to see the pineapples now that it isn’t all wrinkled!

It’s been ready to be sent off for almost a week now. I can’t decide when I want to drop it in the mail.

Today I fidgeted with different background colors and photographed it. This is the best photo out of the 20,000 I took. It seems a yellow towel was necessary to show off the different shades of blue to full effect.

pineappleshawlfo

I’m not really happy with the photo but this is the best I could do to get it at least useful enough to see the design clearly.

As I said in a previous post, I didn’t have enough yarn to give it a border, but it really doesn’t need one. The double-v stitches on the edges are elegant enough.

And now back to crocheting my sweater! I’m almost ready to start making the sleeves.

 

20 thoughts on “Pineapple Shawl: WIP SMACKDOWN

    • tonymarkp August 11, 2017 / 1:31 pm

      2 afghans, a sweater, a tablecloth, and a pumpkin. So that’s 5 WIPs. So much less overwhelming! Thanks for the huzzahs. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • quietwatercraft August 14, 2017 / 10:53 am

        Much more manageable 🙂 I’m just aiming for single figures at the moment…

        Liked by 1 person

      • tonymarkp August 15, 2017 / 1:22 am

        I got out of the double digits a couple weeks ago. It felt good.

        Like

  1. claire93 August 11, 2017 / 12:58 pm

    a yellow background seems the obvious choice to show off your pineapple motif ^^ Your sister is going to be thrilled to bits with this gorgeous shawl – blues are so rich.
    Well done Tony, on smacking off another WIP . . . you really are a man on a mission!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp August 11, 2017 / 1:33 pm

      Thanks! This shawl was fun to crochet. I’m considering making another one for my mom. But maybe when some time has passed! I don’t want to wear out the fun.

      Like

  2. handmade habit August 11, 2017 / 2:09 pm

    Congrats on another WIP making it to FO-dom! Your pineapple shawl is beautiful. I’m sure it’s recipient will love it. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp August 11, 2017 / 2:11 pm

      Thank you for the vote of confidence!

      Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp August 11, 2017 / 2:10 pm

      Autocorrect strikes again!

      Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp August 11, 2017 / 10:36 pm

      Thank you! For me, the yellow was the better of about six different evils. I’m glad it stands out on your screen, too, so you can see it clearly.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Tami August 17, 2017 / 3:27 pm

    Great job with getting another one finished up! I love the pineapple stitch but believe it or not I’ve never made anything using it! This is gorgeous and all of the shades of blue really work so well with the pattern. You’re finished projects are making me want to start new projects inspired by what you’ve made!! Pineapple stitch curtains are now officially on my soon to be wip list! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp August 17, 2017 / 4:03 pm

      I love the idea of pineapple curtains!!!! Thank you for letting me know my blog gives you ideas. I think that is the coolest thing about reading and writing blogs.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

