Potato pancakes

Photo Aug 08, 22 56 07

I think it’s been a while since I last shared a recipe. Tonight I had some leftover mashed potatoes and I decided to make potato pancakes. Usually my default is bubble and squeak, but I didn’t have any leftover cooked vegetables. Really, there isn’t much skill required to make these little savory cakes. I make these every once and a while, especially if I have cheese that needs using up. Here’s my recipe. Please feel free to alter it any old way you wish.

Ingredients

2 cups leftover mashed potatoes, cold

1 egg yolk

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese (or whatever you have on hand)

1 tsp onion powder or 2 tbsp fresh chopped chives

oil for shallow pan frying

all-purpose flour for dusting and handling raw pancakes

Directions

Combine all the ingredients except the last two in the list. Mix well. The consistency should be rather stiff, enough to handle without too much stickiness. If the dough is too sticky or wet, add a little more flour. With floured hands form 3-inch patties, about 1/4 inch thick. If frying later, line a plate with floured parchment paper and keep them in the fridge on that. To fry: over medium heat in a nonstick frying pan, heat oil. When the oil is hot enough, begin frying the pancakes in batches. If making many pancakes they can be kept warm in an oven. Serve with ketchup and / or sour cream. Makes approximately 5 3-inch potato pancakes.

Notes

This recipe is not for people who wish to lose weight or need to avoid fattening foods. Just imagine: mashed potatoes have butter and if you’re the type of person who prefers to use cream instead of milk for mashing potatoes, well, there’s all that fat. Then, we’ve just added cheese and fried this lovely mix. Generally speaking, we’re frying some carbohydrate-rich mass of fat in more fat. If eaten with sour cream, well, there’s more. I usually only eat one and have a salad on the side. Any remaining pancakes heat up well in a 350 F oven.

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Potato pancakes

    • tonymarkp August 9, 2017 / 1:05 am

      Thanks! A little too delicious. I eat mine VERY slowly and pay lots of attention to my salad.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. claire93 August 9, 2017 / 10:53 am

    they look and sound yummy!
    I make “rosti” with grated raw potato . . . I never think to use up leftover mash and usually give it to the hens lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp August 9, 2017 / 1:21 pm

      That works!

      Like

  2. madgeface August 9, 2017 / 6:40 pm

    You usually only have one potato pancake? ONE? Such restraint! I end up skipping salad/veggies in favor of more potato pancakes so kudos to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp August 9, 2017 / 8:11 pm

      If I were 20 years old I’d heat all of them at once. Those days are done!

      Liked by 1 person

      • madgeface August 9, 2017 / 8:54 pm

        I just pretend I’m still 20 sometimes, which can lead to bodily injury.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. handmade habit August 10, 2017 / 3:18 am

    These look scrumptious. I will have to try this recipe. Thank you for sharing it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tami August 15, 2017 / 2:54 am

    Wow this brings back a lot of yummy comfort food memories! My mother used to make potato pancakes all the time when I was a kid! I think I made some many many years ago. The challenge in my house is having leftover mashed potatoes. I need to make extra the next time I mash some up specifically to have leftovers to make potato pancakes with!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp August 15, 2017 / 7:13 pm

      You can also make them with raw grated potato. It’s a different texture but they are also very yummy.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

