WIP knockout

I’ve managed to transform a couple of WIPs into FOs, which means I feel less overwhelmed because I have fewer things in progress. The flavor of the week, that had been abandoned temporarily, is the pineapple shawl for my sister.

pineappleaug2

This time I hung it off a hanger, which is promising. It means that it’s big enough to drape over something. The yarn ball only has three color repeats left. This is good news, because it means I’m almost done. It is also slightly disappointing, because I was thinking of borders, but I don’t I think I’ll have enough yarn for one. This is only slightly disappointing because I envisioned a border just to have fun crocheting it. The shawl will look just as wonderful without it.

I have resisted the temptation to start any new projects (Go me! Fighting the good fight!). I am not even working on my usual pair of socks that I always have going. This means that the WIP stats are going down. All my projects are now crochet and cross stitch. I have no knitting in progress. That’s fine. I’m not going to start anything new until I finish my cross stitch pumpkin, the pineapple shawl, and my crochet sweater. The Celtic Wheel cushion (cross stitch) and two crochet afghans can continue with their WIP status for a while longer. However, I plan to work diligently on my hexagon afghan before starting anything new. The goal is to bore myself with the afghan until I can’t take it anymore and then start a new project or maybe I’ll feel like working on the Celtic Wheel cushion. Hope certainly floats, doesn’t it?

14 thoughts on “WIP knockout

  1. Yolanda Chavez Sherman August 2, 2017 / 10:33 pm

    My gosh, I love that blue color. Gorgeous. Sounds like you have an abundance of WIPs to keep you busy for awhile. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp August 3, 2017 / 12:45 am

      Thank you. I do have many, but I’m going to knock them out. I’m determined.

      Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp August 3, 2017 / 12:47 am

      Thank you so much! I like how the pineapples get striped differently on each pattern repeat as the shawl gets wider. Part of my goal for getting this sucker done is that I want to see it blocked, because with a nice blocking I think it’s going to be hypnotic pineapples.

      Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp August 3, 2017 / 12:44 am

      Thank you very much! When I’m not drinking wine I’ll give the questionnaire a shot. That’s very nice of you and I must say that I love the stuff you put on your blog. So intelligent and funny!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. handmade habit August 3, 2017 / 8:55 am

    Bravo on approaching the FO-homestretch on the pineapple shawl! The stitch pattern and colour go so very gorgeously together! Happy to read that the WIPs are going well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. brennacrocheter August 3, 2017 / 2:20 pm

    I get so mad when I run out of yarn! At least the shawl will be completed sooner and it looks like a beautiful stitch pattern!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp August 3, 2017 / 6:38 pm

      Thanks very much. Running out of yarn isn’t too much of a bummer now that you put it that way. Borders take more time.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. claire93 August 3, 2017 / 4:04 pm

    oh my! you are being stern with yourself! But the good side is, your current WIPs will come along all the faster!
    Love the colour of your sister’s shawl.

    Like

    • tonymarkp August 3, 2017 / 4:31 pm

      Thanks, it’s definitely her favorite color. My stern attitude with myself is paying off so I want to stick to my guns!

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Tami August 9, 2017 / 1:49 pm

    You know I love a lacy shawl!! And those colors are perfect for this pattern!! Great job with resisting the urge to start even more wips! I’m not sure what the seasons are like in Spain, but here in New England autumn is just around the corner. I start smelling that Fall scent and my hand starts twitching for the hook! Then there’s Christmas crocheting to be done too!! I will be buried in wips before the end of September I’m sure. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp August 9, 2017 / 2:11 pm

      It’s starting to get cooler here too. I’m originally from Maine and, oddly, my family says it’s hotter there than where I am in Spain! In Valladolid we get about two and a half months of summer then two months of autumn and the rest of the year is pretty much winter!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

