Almost almost finished

It’s amazing what happens when the world leaves you alone so you can really get going on some knitting.

This morning I talked about my mosaic project. I didn’t know what it would become. After saying “I’m not cooking” and ordering a pizza, everything just took care of itself.

First of all, the knitting is done. Second, before deciding firmly on what the mosaic rectangle would become, I took a peak in my fabric stash to see what I had. You see, if I didn’t have anything in my fabric stash, I might have speedily concluded that the mosaic rectangle would become a table runner. However, I found the perfect fabric to line it and create pockets. Behold my theoretical roll-up tool organizer:

mosaicandfabric

It’s night so I’ve had to use some artificial light, but I think you can still appreciate all the difference having the right fabric has made in my decision. The dark blue fabric will definitely go around the outside to frame the mosaic pattern. From here, I’m not sure. I might use the light blue patterned fabric as the inside liner and the dark blue for pockets. On the other hand, maybe I’d prefer to do the reverse. I feel like the piece needs more dark blue. This is why I wasn’t thrilled with the colors in my knitting. The white yarn is too bright and doesn’t contrast enough with the light blue yarn. Anyway, the fabric will make all the difference.

Tomorrow I shall spend some time cutting and ironing fabric. Then, to the sewing machine!

 

7 thoughts on “Almost almost finished

  1. claire93 July 28, 2017 / 10:13 pm

    ooh Tony, I love it that you can tackle so many crafts. Needlecrafting seems to attract more women than men, but when the men get going, they really do it with gusto!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 28, 2017 / 10:32 pm

      Thanks! I’m sort of obsessed!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anita July 29, 2017 / 6:22 am

    Interesting choices and decisions to make. Waiting to see how it ends up!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. handmade habit July 31, 2017 / 6:35 am

    Beautiful mosaic pattern. I like the darker blue you’ve chosen and am looking forward to seeing more of the organizer as it progresses – interesting and very practical idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tami August 2, 2017 / 4:52 pm

    Okay so what I’m hearing is – if I say “I’m not cooking dinner” and order a pizza then all of my problematic wips will be finished???? Hooorayy!!!! That’s a win win in my book!!!! Do you have an incantation that will get the vacuuming done and the dishes washed as well? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp August 2, 2017 / 9:39 pm

      Not exactly. The world has to leave you alone (like, you know, no one asks you for things, and maybe you force the issue by silencing your cell) and you do no cooking, ordering a pizza. All the WIPs will not be finished, but if you have a lot like I do you can make a nice dent in them. There is no magic or incantation. It’s luck, having a free Friday, and an order out menu that has items listed that will please everyone in the house that will eat with you. The pizza was for me, I had to buy a fried chicken for the fussy eater that doesn’t do pizza. To complete this, just imagine all the time I saved not cooking for a fussy eater. If you’re a fussy eater, I’m sorry if I offended you. Living with one when I am not a fussy eater is mentally exhausting. The cooking begins with “what do you want?” And then you get the answer, “I don’t know, maybe this complicated thing you make that I like” and instead of answering with something lame like, “That’s not a good idea for today, maybe Sunday?” and then continuing on and on negotiating the thing you actually A) have time to prepare and B) feel like eating yourself, you dive for the order out menu and finish the job and proceed to work on a WIP.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tami August 3, 2017 / 2:51 am

        That sounds like conversations that go on in my house! I’m not fussy at all so no worries about offending me – in fact it really would take quite a bit for me to be offended by anything. I usually give hubby a choice of three things to pick from for dinner before he goes to work then if he can’t decide I just pick one of those things and make that. The “what do you want to eat” conversation drives me nuts. I make sure that none of the options that I give him are complicated Sunday meals except for on Sundays! Sometimes you just have to order a pizza, pour a glass (or two) of wine and settle in with some yarn therapy!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

