Text-only Wednesday

No pics today. Nope. Just some text. I want you to feel nostalgic for the days of yore when you were trying to beat The Legend of Zelda and you went over to the GameFAQs site to read the walk through with its ASCII terminal type and maps “drawn” with symbols. OK, maybe you never did that. I did, though.

What made me think of this? Because way back in 2002 I decided to get out the old Nintendo and follow the walk through to beat Zelda, finally. 17 years later I did it again! That’s how I spent my weekend. No, I did not remember all the things I had to do to win the game, so once again I relied on good old Colin Moriarty’s nerdy, ASCII instructions. By the way, Colin, thank you again.

Wait a minute, this is a knitting and crochet (and sometimes cross stitch and sewing) blog. Totally off-topic. I’m supposed to talk about crafty things. OK. Here it goes:

  1. Socks knit with Cascade Heritage Prints yarn: I turned the heel on the second sock.
  2. My sister’s pineapple shawl: languishing in the UFO bin.
  3. Cross stitch pumpkins for Halloween: I’ve got three done and I’m working on a fourth one. I wanted to photograph them but I worked all day and now it’s night time so, nope, no picky-picky. Another time. I’ll be talking about these things for a while, anyway, because cross stitching them entirely is just the first volume of the saga. Once they’re cross stitched I’ve got to decide how I want to sew them together. I also “need” to buy fabric to accent them. I really “need” Halloween-themed fabric.
  4. Cross stitch “Celtic Wheel” throw pillow (or cushion, take your pick): I’ve managed to get some little details done. I’m still in quarter 1 of the chart. I might overstay my welcome in this area given that the details are time-consuming. Yesterday, with about three hours, I got the little thingies that might be rocks or might be snails (not sure what they are supposed to be) stitched up partially. If only Joan Elliott cared about my blog. I follow hers. BTW, Ms. Elliott, if you’re reading this, what are those things supposed to be? Are they magical rocks or magical snails? And please excuse my ignorance. Sometimes I see them as snails and sometimes as rocks, because the thingies that sit in the middle of the piece don’t have antennae, but then the ones that are on the border framing the whole piece seem to have antennae. I debate with myself often if they are snails hiding in their shells or magical Celtic rocks with mystical time travel powers.
  5. Top-down crochet “Telegraph” sweater: languishing in the UFO bin with its cousin, the pineapple shawl.
  6. Crochet cotton tablecloth: languishing yet perched on the back of my sofa, exposed to the elements but certainly free to finish itself if it feels motivated. I tell it often, “feel free to finish yourself” but so far it isn’t getting my drift.
  7. Tunisian crochet afghan: on month 4 of being ignored, yet pleased to be resting in the afghan cubby. It often shouts at the projects in the UFO bin that it’s in the VIP furniture.
  8. Hexagon afghan: Resting peacefully next to its brother, Tunisian crochet afghan, telling him to shut up and leave the non-VIPs alone. It’s not their fault they’re wool and need a line of protection against pests, after all. I’ve even heard Mr. Hexagon say to Mr. Tunisian, “don’t get so full of yourself, we’re cheap acrylic, after all!”
  9. Socks that are finished yet not washed or blocked yet: Those three pairs are in the UFO bin, shouting at Cascade Heritage Prints to get done already, so that maybe they can all have a bath together.
  10. Never-before-mentioned mosaic knitting thingy: I made some progress on it. I still have no idea why I’m knitting it and what it will be. It’s blue and white and a big rectangle. I cast it on some months ago and forgot I had started it. I found it by accident yesterday and knit some on it this week just for fun.

If you’ve read this far, thank you for your attention. Since you are kind enough to stay, I pose the question to you: What the hell would you do with all these WIPs? It’s too much. Some days I feel like putting white dresses on them all, parading them through the town, and leading them to the mountain to sacrifice them to the volcano.

So far the only idea that has occurred to me is that I will finish my socks and then just work my way through all the other projects until they are done before I ever, ever, ever start something new. Obviously the afghans have a low priority given that it’s July and it’s hotter than seven shades. However, the shawl is manageable. I think I’ll try to finish the shawl and the table cloth next while using cross stitch and the mosaic knitting whatever-it-is to take a break from the shawl, table cloth, and cross stitch. I don’t like this idea much because I WON’T HAVE A PAIR OF SOCKS GOING. THE AGONY. But that’s life when you have the attention span of a fish that knows how to knit, crochet, and make other things.

27 thoughts on “Text-only Wednesday

  1. nothingbutknit2 July 27, 2017 / 12:05 am

    That is a list of WIPs! I’d list the ones that are weather appropriate in order (either how soon you want it done, how much time it will take to finish it or how much you feel like doing it) and then rotate working on them. Or pick the one you’re in the mood for and stuff the rest in a bag in the back of your closet. Whatever works for you:)
    I’ve never played Zelda. My daughter loves them all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 27, 2017 / 12:17 am

      Playing Zelda is like trying to learn ancient Greek. I still need a walk through. In the back of the closet is a bit less extreme than throwing it into a volcano and the added benefit is that just maybe I’ll get it done. I totally love the weather-appropriate criteria. I think I’ve been doing that instinctively, since the sweater and afghans have been banished for now. Now that you put my unconscious out there in the open I will “mindfully” follow this. Thanks so much for the suggestion. It will help me not start another project! I need to start another project like I need to shoot myself in the head at this point.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. MrsCraft July 27, 2017 / 12:08 am

    You are super busy! When I feel I have too many WIPs I either choose a couple and give them an hour each per night for a while, or I choose the one closest to finishing and just get it done. I like to have 2 different crafts on the go as well so I can switch, normally 1 knit and 1 crochet. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 27, 2017 / 12:14 am

      That is a nice method. Also, I think I’m almost on the right track. Obvious choice is socks and the next FO. From there, I can whittle away, like you’ve suggested. Thank you so much!

      Like

      • MrsCraft July 27, 2017 / 12:16 am

        No probs, everyone has their own way of sorting it. I found it hard when 2 WIPs were in that middle ‘doldrums ‘ stage and it felt like I’d never finish anything!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Yolanda Chavez Sherman July 27, 2017 / 12:33 am

    Had a good giggle. Loved your talking WIPS. They sound a lot like mine might sound. I don’t have too many going right now. In fact, I think I only have the one coat I’m ‘plugging’ away at. I say ‘I think’ I only have one WIP going because who knows what I have lurking in my craft room, forgotten and tossed aside. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 27, 2017 / 12:56 am

      I love your “plugging” pun. You have lots of patience with the plugging concept. It adds an interesting effect to the piece, with extra texture, color, and warmth without adding the furnace that would be sewing in a liner. I don’t know if I’d be able to do what you’re doing. It’s a happy medium you’ve found, though, between function and fashion.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. madgeface July 27, 2017 / 2:46 am

    All those WIPs! I tend to stick with 2-3 and really have no advice on wrestling them all into submission, except to say that I think you’re on the right track with not starting anything new and finishing them in heat comfort order. Except the socks; you should savor and ration those. I hope you solve the snail or rock mystery! And I sympathise with your nostalgia; I should see if Mosaic is still available somehow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 27, 2017 / 11:57 pm

      I should probably just set them on fire somehow. But, I won’t, because I worked hard to get them to where they are. I have never in my life had this much stuff in medias res. I went berzerk with starting things a few months back and now I’m regretting it. I’m the personality type that wants to get it done. I don’t think I’ll be here in this place ever again. Learning moment!

      Liked by 1 person

      • madgeface July 28, 2017 / 12:03 am

        Fire would be satisfying, but not as satisfying as having all those FOs.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. quietwatercraft July 27, 2017 / 12:48 pm

    Oh I feel your pain! So many WIPs, it actually becomes difficult to decide what to do. Sadly, it’s beginning to look like I will always have my massive list of WIPs because I just can’t resist starting something shiny and new, and there’s no local volcano to which I can sacrifice them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 27, 2017 / 1:23 pm

      Yeah, I have had to have second thoughts about the sacrifice because there are no volcanoes in my neighbourhood, either.

      Like

      • quietwatercraft July 27, 2017 / 1:25 pm

        It’s always the little things you miss when looking for a flat. Double glazing, fully tiled shower, local volcano…

        Liked by 1 person

      • tonymarkp July 27, 2017 / 1:29 pm

        LOL

        Like

  6. claire93 July 27, 2017 / 1:33 pm

    just a thought, for when you start looking for fabrics for your pumpkins . . . rather than trying to find Hallowe’en theme prints, which will be “busy” and probably detract from the pumpkins, why don’t you just buy a nice selection of purples, greens, oranges, and black? They’re all associated with Hallowe’en.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 27, 2017 / 1:40 pm

      That’s a good idea! Thank you for the suggestion.

      Like

    • tonymarkp July 27, 2017 / 8:27 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed it. I also like seeing your projects and ideas on your blog. You have some wonderful material.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Meghan @ LuLu's Yarn Art July 27, 2017 / 8:29 pm

        Thank you very much! I’m making a pattern right now, hopefully I will be ready to post about it this weekend.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. lawlovely July 28, 2017 / 4:48 pm

    Reblogged this on Yarnsage and commented:
    I am cracking up this. Only because I have just as many WIPs waiting for me.

    Like

  8. lawlovely July 28, 2017 / 4:56 pm

    I have about the same amount of WIPs. I think of my needles as conduits to different conversations. When I want to ‘talk’ knit and purl, it is my knitting needles. With single crochet stitch, it is my crochet hook. When I want a conversation about Tunisian Simple Stitch, I pick up my Tunisian crochet hook. I get bored with my conversations so I have a lot of WIPs

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 28, 2017 / 4:58 pm

      I like this way of seeing it. I’m going to try thinking this way to get through my projects. Thanks a lot!

      Like

  9. Tami July 29, 2017 / 5:30 pm

    I don’t even know where to start! As I’m reading posts I like to make mental notes on what I want to include in my comments. Well my brain is already near capacity for storing mental notes and I think this post has triggered the emergency release valve. I don’t know yet what will be released. It could be segments of the comment I wanted to make here or it could be my grocery list – regardless there is a steam cloud of my thoughts drifting somewhere in southeastern Connecticut right now.

    Fortunately I had the foresight to highlight and copy one thing that I felt must be included in this comment – “magical Celtic rocks with mystical time travel powers” – fascinating and I think that is what I suspect these objects are too. Well at least that’s how I will think of them because I can build a whole back story in my head about the designer’s inspiration whereas snails just don’t seem to be as inspiring to me. Maybe magical time travelling snails – no scratch that, a little too terrifying to think of that!

    Zelda – I remember eagerly awaiting the Nintendo Power magazines arrival in the mail. We recently downloaded the original NES version on our Wii U – I was catapulted back in time when the background music started playing and the sound of the sword being used when you were at full hearts so it was a projectile!! I will neither confirm nor deny if I ever called in sick to work to play it. Or any other video games – I’m looking at you Dr. Mario. πŸ˜€

    Catty afghans and wips with attitudes – I feel your pain. You could threaten to frog them all but they would just laugh. We are at their mercy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 29, 2017 / 6:00 pm

      Thanks for being so thoughtful. Your shopping list would be fine, but this comment here is far better! As I finish the “rocks” in the middle they are definitely rocks but with colors that are similar to the snails’ on the outer parts.

      Like

  10. handmade habit July 30, 2017 / 6:10 am

    Your post made had me in stitches – I love the idea that the WIPs are related to one another, and are in various states of vying for some crafting attention, as WIPs do. πŸ™‚ Owing to some wrist pain, I’ve decided to work one project at a time for the next little bit, but I’m definitely fighting off the desire to cast on something new. Maybe introducing the next FO to the other WIPs will give them the reassurance they’ll have their day in the sun? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 30, 2017 / 1:46 pm

      I’m glad you had a good laugh. Although humorous, this is a true story of a boy who started too many things. I hope your wrist feels better soon. I find that the WIPs will always be nasty to each other. They have this competitive instinct. I wouldn’t be surprised if one day I have a naughty WIP that unravels the other while they sit together in the UFO bin.

      Like

      • handmade habit July 30, 2017 / 10:08 pm

        Thanks, Tony. I’m giving the wrist some TLC. Haha – yes, it’s in WIPs’ nature to compete, and there’s probably no way around that. πŸ˜‰ Oh, that would be so devious! Let’s hope that they can play nicely. πŸ™‚ Happy Sunday!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

