Mostly, I’m cross stitching

I’ve been knitting my socks and crocheting my table cloth some, but, for the most part, I’ve been cross stitching. I’m pleased with my progress, but it’s slow going.

cross stitch jul15

The part that makes this project evolve slowly is the border. It’s very detailed. I’ve considered just getting the rest of the border finished before doing anything else, but the border doesn’t run completely around the piece. There are other things that interrupt it and add interest to the design. Once I get this quarter of the chart all stitched I’m going to complete the backstitching in this section before moving on to the next. What I can’t decide: work to the right or go up? I suppose I’ll figure it out when I get this done.

A helpful tip: it IS possible to backstitch before completing the entire project, just as long as you backstitch in an area that has all the cross stitching around it completed. The cool thing about this pattern is that the backstitching only happens inside the borders. So, I can do the little details bit by bit when I finish cross stitching a quarter of the piece.

Today I’ll also be knitting because it’s knitting and crochet club day. We’re going to a new bar that has a large outside seating area. It’s a beautiful day for a beer and a little sock knitting with friends. I’m looking forward to it a lot.

7 thoughts on “Mostly, I’m cross stitching

  1. Tami July 15, 2017 / 3:20 pm

    What a gorgeous design!!! For the record ANY day is a beautiful day for a beer and knitting (or crochet in my case)!! Have fun!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. claire93 July 15, 2017 / 3:37 pm

    it’s looking beautiful, Tony! and a good idea to backstitch as you go (that’s the part I enjoy the least with xstitch, so good to get it done rather than leaving it all to the end).

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 15, 2017 / 11:59 pm

      Thanks so much! If I didn’t backstitch things as I went I’d say, “darn it, it isn’t finished yet, I forgot to backstitch that oher thing” about a million times.

      Like

  3. nothingbutknit2 July 15, 2017 / 3:47 pm

    It’s looking great! The colors just pop:)
    Have a wonderful time knitting and enjoying your beer:) Sounds like a wonderful afternoon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. handmade habit July 16, 2017 / 3:05 am

    Beautiful work, Tony. Lovely to see the cross-stitch project coming along. And sock-knitting with beer and pals sounds so much fun. πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoyed a beautiful day.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. brennacrocheter July 17, 2017 / 3:20 pm

    Your stitches are impeccable, and the design is beautiful. Have fun with your friends, knitting and drinking (sounds like an ideal day)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 17, 2017 / 6:38 pm

      Thank you! It was. There was even a somewhat cool breeze to accompany the cold beer.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

