I can talk about my WIPs on a Wednesday

This morning I actually caught a break from working and had time to photograph my WIPs with some good quality sunshine. I’ve been knitting, crocheting, and cross stitching.

My sock made with Cascade Heritage Prints is taking its time. You’d think I’d be pumped to finish the first of the pair since I’ve already finished the foot and most of the leg. But, nope. My hands get too sweaty in this 90 degree (F) weather.

sock

The background for my sock is my crochet tablecloth, which is also progressing slowly because I only work on it for maybe twenty minutes a day. Again, it’s the uncomfortable feeling on my hands in the hot weather. Cotton breathes but while it’s doing that it suffocates my hands!

Anyway, as you can see, it is approaching the correct size of its intended wearer, which is the table that it is resting on. When I use up this second skein of cotton it will be time for me to start a nice border for it with skein 3. I’m thinking about using a filet pattern.

tablecloth

My crochet “Telegraph Sweater” designed by Peter Franzi is also coming along very gradually. If the cotton is uncomfortable in my hands, just imagine how the wool feels. Anyway, this garment can take its time. I’m in no hurry just yet to wear it, considering it’s July and I wish it wasn’t necessary to wear clothes.

Cross stitch – for the most part – has cured my need to create in uncomfortably hot Castilian weather. I’m glad I’ve got back into this pastime. I’ve been spending most of my free time cross stitching and less of it knitting and crocheting. The pattern I’ve chosen, which is Joan Elliott’s “Celtic Wheel Cushion” from her book Magical Cross Stitch, is a delightful challenge with very fine color details. The rose and the bunch of grapes you see have three or four shades. If you think the fruit and the flower look awkward you have a good eye. There is a lot of backstitching to complete for outlining things as well as to add stems and other little details. Right now the poor rose’s leaves are just suspended in midair and disconnected from the flower.

crossstitch

I have already become an over-enthusiastic cross stitcher and ordered more stuff for future projects. I’ve got plenty of Aida cloth in different colors and I’m waiting for some seed beads, floss, and Kreinik metallic threads to arrive in the mail. Yeah, you bet, when I’m in, I’m all in. After placing my order I forgot that I wanted some gold-colored Aida cloth for a bookmark I’d like to make, so I’ll have to buy some more supplies soon.

I can’t wait for the end of the day when I finish work and relax with a little WordPress browsing so I can see what you’re up to with your WIPs.

 

13 thoughts on “I can talk about my WIPs on a Wednesday

  1. nothingbutknit2 July 5, 2017 / 12:51 pm

    Everything looks wonderful! I know what you mean about sweaty hands and knitting. It makes the yarn feel like barbed wire:(
    You’ve really been bitten by the cross stitch bug:) It’s as easy (or maybe easier) to acquire a cross stitch stash as it is a yarn stash:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 5, 2017 / 5:18 pm

      Thank you! The nice thing about building stash for cross stitch is that it’s pretty cheap. Guilt-free stashing!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. claire93 July 5, 2017 / 7:42 pm

    I can only approve of your growing cross stitch stash ^^
    And isn’t Joan Elliott a wonderful designer??? I have several of her books and odd charts from magazines.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 5, 2017 / 10:13 pm

      Hee hee! Thank you. Your blog inspired me to go back to it because you do some gorgeous cross stitching. My mom gave me a ton of her stuff and I never bothered to look at it all until I decided to cross stitch something. I’ve been looking at magazines with her designs, also. I truly adore just about everything I’ve seen by her. The book I’m using is beautiful from page 1 to the end. This all has a practical end, though (well, practical-ish) because I want to decorate my living room with things from the traditions of modern-day English-speaking countries because that’s where I tutor my students. Strong motifs will be Celtic. I’ve actually decided I’ll do seasonal corny holiday stuff from America (because country cross stitch isn’t exactly my cup of coffee, or American flags for that matter) so you know, in October, a Halloween thingy on display, in November Thanksgiving, maybe a Veteran’s thing for May, yadda yadda. I can’t decide how I’ll incorporate English or decidedly Scottish things just yet.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. madeantiquated July 5, 2017 / 9:01 pm

    I really like that tablecloth, though I totally understand how cotton can feel in the summer. That bright blue sure looks good on your table though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 5, 2017 / 10:05 pm

      Thank you! When the temps hover around 80 or 82 it’s not a problem. When it’s 90-100 I can’t stand it or my clothes!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. handmade habit July 6, 2017 / 6:07 am

    How very prolific! Wonderful to see the tablecloth growing; it is such a lovely stitch pattern. And hooray for cross-stitching! Your WIPs all look so wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 6, 2017 / 7:28 am

      Thank you so much! I don’t know if I’m prolific. Maybe more short-attention-spanned with stash.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Tami July 6, 2017 / 12:34 pm

    Love that tablecloth – adding filet to it is going to look amazing!!! That sweater is absolutely gorgeous! I can totally relate to “when I’m in, I’m all in” – I’m currently building my bead and cord stash for kumihimo fun! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 6, 2017 / 12:34 pm

      Thanks! It’s fun and exciting to start a new hobby.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Anita July 7, 2017 / 5:32 am

    Great progress, especially on the tablecloth! Yeah, it’s sad that hot temperatures and our favorite craft don’t mix well – but not so sad when we find we can pick up other crafts to enjoy! May your cross stitch stash grow. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Meghan @ LuLu's Yarn Art July 10, 2017 / 8:23 pm

    It all looks great! I love the cross stitch especially. I love Celtic knotwork! Have you seen some of the crochet patterns for knotwork?

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp July 15, 2017 / 12:50 am

      Yes, I have! I want to try it out for sure. I actually haven’t done any Irish crochet, either, which I want to also go for, especially since I think some nice Cluny lace would be perfect for Spring and Summer decorating. It would match nicely with the knotwork.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

