Review: 300 Classic Blocks by Linda P. Schapper

300 Classic Blocks for Crochet Projects by Linda P. Schapper, Lark Crafts: 2011, 256 pages. Paperback and hardcover editions available. Grade: A

When the title says this is all about “classic blocks” it isn’t a joke. These grannies are all older than the hills and mostly simple to crochet. In fact, we can find directions for some of these floating around the Internet free of charge. I’m actually grateful that “classic” is in the name so that I know what I’m getting into if I decide to use this to make something.

I think it’s also important to remember that this is a revised edition. It was originally published in 1987 and since then it has been redone several times. The fact that it continues to be edited is promising and also means that there are people who would buy this title (like me!).

I like how the blocks are organized by the types of stitches that are used to make them. For example, there’s a category for post stitches and another for bobbles, etc. Motifs that don’t fit into any of these groups are organized according to their overall shapes, like circles and triangles.

An experienced crocheter will no doubt open the book and say, “I could have made that up myself!” Indeed, there are many very basic patterns that a lot of us can just make off the tops of our heads. Others are traditional and we have memorized them by now. However, there are also more complex designs. My motive for getting this collection was to have all my information in one place without having to actually sift through millions of web links and/or patterns for afghans that take advantage of the “classics.” I’ve got all the basic things in one nicely organized book so that when I want to make something simple I can refresh my memory quickly. Alternatively, if I want to make up my own complex block, I can start with one of these simple ones and pimp it any which way I like.

I recommend this book to new and experienced crocheters. New crocheters will appreciate some guidance on how to make different shapes and learn how stitches can be stacked on each other to achieve a variety of effects. People with more hooking history might like to have this title for the same reasons I got it: all the classics in one place. I’ll add that it’s useful for designing our own blocks, maybe starting with one from this book and adding our own modifications to turn it into something else.

10 thoughts on “Review: 300 Classic Blocks by Linda P. Schapper

  1. Tami June 26, 2017 / 4:23 pm

    Looks like another good candidate for a crochet through the patterns book then make a big blanket when all the squares are done!! Yarnutopia by Nadia has a series of Granny Square a Day videos with 365 patterns. I’ve toyed with the idea of making them all. Thank you for another great review!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 26, 2017 / 11:38 pm

      I really want to crochet my way through an entire book some time, too. I think this would be what I’d do if I won the lottery or retired (will I ever retire????). The 365 granny squares sounds like a good candidate. This one is also a good candidate because the motifs are easy and you can watch TV or something while making them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tami June 27, 2017 / 2:39 am

        If we become professional crocheters we will never need to retire!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. noneuclideansofa June 26, 2017 / 11:03 pm

    Reading your blog is making me really want to get into crocheting. My transformation into cat lady would then be complete, and I think that’s what I’m destined to become.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 26, 2017 / 11:04 pm

      As a man and a cat lady without cats, I can testify to the fact that cat lady is the way to be, especially without cats, because they screw up your yarn big time if you have them and crochet.

      Liked by 2 people

      • noneuclideansofa June 26, 2017 / 11:05 pm

        I have three right now, but the ensuing battle over the available yarn sounds like something I desperately need in my life. My resolve strengthens.

        Liked by 1 person

      • tonymarkp June 26, 2017 / 11:32 pm

        Yarn touches my superficial consumerist side in a delightful way. I have had two cats in my life, now long gone. I decided not to have more cats because each of the two cats I had (separately in different moments of my life) somehow learned to only like me and no one else. In fact, they were hostile to all people except me. It could be a total coincidence or it could be something about me with cats. My dog was nice to everybody and my bird hated me and was nice to everyone else. The secret is probably to have more than one so they become obsessed with their own little social hierarchy and hate each other which makes them disposed to being nicer to humans. Or I have some special cat charm about me that makes them obsessed with me like in Fatal Attraction.

        Liked by 1 person

      • noneuclideansofa June 27, 2017 / 1:23 am

        Cats choose their obsessions. They are mysterious little psychopaths, but they probably loved you because they wanted to.

        Liked by 1 person

      • tonymarkp June 28, 2017 / 1:54 am

        Your observation makes me wish I had kept track of their dead bodies and made a tombstone for them, with “they probably loved you even though they were psychopaths” etched onto the polished granite.

        Liked by 1 person

      • noneuclideansofa June 28, 2017 / 3:35 am

        ha! Every cat deserves that. Little fluffy monsters. I love them

        Like

Leave a Reply

