Review: Crochet One-Skein Wonders (r)

Crochet One-Skein Wonders (r) by Judith Durant and Edie Eckman, Storey: 2016, 288 pages. Paperback and digital editions available. Grade: A

Do you crochet? If you’ve answered “yes” to this question, you will probably benefit from having this book in your library. The reason? If you often wield the hook, this means you have some singles lying around your stash. Even if you don’t, you are no doubt happy to crochet projects that only require a small amount. It’s cheaper to buy one ball than two or three. Also, a project that only needs one of something is fast to crochet, something I need so I can take a break from larger endeavors.

The number of projects to be crocheted with just one skein is impressive. I personally like books like these because sometimes I don’t feel like being creative and dreaming up my own way of using a ball or scraps. When I’m in the mood to plan and execute what I thought about, I’m all in on the creative process. Other times I just want to browse through some designs and find something to make and get on with crocheting right away. As a matter of fact, I love this collection so much I bought it twice: once for me and then another time for my sister at Christmas. In case you’re curious: she loves it, too. I have only made one item from it but plan to do more in the future. That was “Tunisian Croc Rock Cap” by Yvonne Cherry, which creatively combines Tunisian and standard crochet. I had so much fun making my first cap that I made a second one.

Then, there’s variety: toys, baby clothes, kitchen gear, projects with beads, hats, scarves, bags, table ware, and the list goes on. It’s really hard to pick some favorites because I like every single project in this collection. That’s right! I like all 101 of them and my life’s goal is to crochet every single one. That’s never going to happen, but I want to, I really really want to. There is just so much creativity here, also. To name a few examples: playing with self-striping yarn, as we see in “Autumn Camouflage Scarf” by Janet Brani, weaving, employed for “Boutique Weave Scarf” by Nirmal Khalsa, buttons with appliqué for “Fuzzy Tea Cozy by Melinda A. Sheehan, and felting with “Maywood Purse” by Brenda K.B. Anderson.

Finally, it isn’t necessary to use the recommended yarn for these items. For example, when I made my “Tunisian Croc Rock Cap” the first time, I used a “thick and thin” multi-colored number and it came out great. The second time I used some self-striping Katia City and I got really good results. The recommended skein-of-choice? Lorna’s Laces Worsted. The same can apply to the other patterns. Just think of the possibilities with the thread crochet stuff in this book, especially. You could even alter the gauge for some of them to make other things that are larger or smaller. For example, why not turn a coaster into an afghan square?

Crochet One-Skein Wonders (r) is very useful to me and it will continue to be handy in the future. I think crocheters who like to make small, quick projects, like to buy single skeins, or have leftover yarn from other projects will truly enjoy this book and go back to it again and again.

5 thoughts on “Review: Crochet One-Skein Wonders (r)

  1. Tami June 16, 2017 / 2:50 am

    I have this book!! My hubby gave it to me for Christmas. I flipped through it but have not made anything yet. I have half a plan to crochet my way through the book this fall. Kind of like the Julie and Julia movie plot but with yarn! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 16, 2017 / 9:50 am

      That is something I would like to do, too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Meghan @ LuLu's Yarn Art June 18, 2017 / 3:45 pm

    Thanks for the review, I do not have this book in my collection and really want to check it out. I have a ton of single skeins I am trying to use up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 19, 2017 / 12:56 am

      Thanks for reading it. I’m glad it was useful to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Robin June 19, 2017 / 12:13 pm

    This book now has my interest. I like making quick projects.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

