The scarf didn’t see it coming

My blue lace scarf had no idea it was going to be finished. I sort of sneaked up on it and ended this very long project on Tuesday evening. This is also the second Friday in a row that I have an FO. So, I’ve got two reasons to be very pleased with my knitting.

 

 

You might recall that I made a deal with myself to knit one pattern repeat a day to get this finished. A week after I made this pact I did not stick to the letter of its law. It still helped me to make this promise to myself, though, because it was constantly on my mind. I’d be at the supermarket and the voice in my head would nag at me, “You haven’t knitted a repeat on your scarf in a few days!”

This design is called “A Man’s Scarf in Blue to Knit” by Inna Voltchkova. It took me about seven months to complete it. It’s a difficult lace pattern to follow because the repeat is several rows long. Consequently, I did not ever memorize this and had to have the chart in front of me the entire time I worked on it. Although the directions recommend using blocking pins, I simply washed my scarf and laid it out flat to dry on some towels, stretching it width-wise. It held the shape I wanted as it dried and the zig-zag pattern is very clear and crisp. So, if you decide to knit this blue number, you may not need to aggressively block it with a thousand pins, either. I used Zitron Filigran, a merino size 0 lace weight yarn which is very light and soft. A happy bonus with washing it: it gets longer because the wool expands quite a lot after having contact with water. I don’t know about you, but my scarf philosophy is: the longer the better.

A clever thing about this wonderful pattern is that the cables, just like the garter stitch lace, are reversible. The cables are actually k1p1, which allows them to look the same on both sides, as you can see in the photos.

You may not agree with the designer about men wearing this, but I totally do. It’s all mine and I’m going to wear the living daylights out of it. I think it’s suitable for men and women, actually. Anyway, I love to knit lace and tire of having to give it away because I can’t wear it. This is lace a DEWD can wear, if it fits in with his style. I shall wear it with my Levi’s denim jacket, so I think it will look fantastic on me and not the least bit strange.

I hope you knit and crochet a lot this weekend! I certainly plan on it.

17 thoughts on “The scarf didn’t see it coming

  1. Tami June 9, 2017 / 4:18 pm

    LOL I love the title of this post and the intro paragraph!! I usually have the opposite situation where I’m the one surprised that a project is finished. This is gorgeous/handsome knitting and I think it definitely can be and should be worn by a man. That cabled border is fantastic! Well done!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 9, 2017 / 4:46 pm

      Thank you, Tami. I’m really excited about the fall weather that will come in the distant future so I can wear it.

      Like

  2. claire93 June 9, 2017 / 4:33 pm

    a beautiful scarf !!! and I totally agree, You’re going to look so “hip” with this and your denim jacket – it’s a lovely shade of blue. It’ll go with just about anything.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 9, 2017 / 4:45 pm

      Thank you so much, Claire.

      Like

  3. nothingbutknit2 June 9, 2017 / 4:38 pm

    Your scarf is fabulous!! I can’t believe it’s finished:) Lace that has to be knit row by row with the chart takes forever.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 9, 2017 / 4:44 pm

      Thank you very much. It was totally worth it. I couldn’t believe it was finished, either. I had avoided measuring it so I wouldn’t discourage myself but then on Tuesday I decided it was getting long, I measured it, and I saw that I was near the end, which motivated me to keep going and get it done.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. handmade habit June 9, 2017 / 5:10 pm

    Gorgeous scarf, Tony! 🙂 It’s so beautiful, and reading about the time it took to make it makesit even more so. It will look great with a denim jacket, and is such a great colour. Bravo!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 9, 2017 / 5:27 pm

      Thank you very much. It was worth it to take the time to knit this one.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Meghan @ LuLu's Yarn Art June 9, 2017 / 7:36 pm

    It turned out wonderful! I love the color of blue you used. I’ve had projects that dragged on and on, and it is always such a relief when they are finished!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 9, 2017 / 7:43 pm

      Thank you! Yeah, I actually felt relieved. I wanted to start another project. Now I can’t decide what I want to begin!

      Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 10, 2017 / 12:55 am

      Thank you very much!

      Like

  6. Katie from Creating Time June 13, 2017 / 7:50 am

    I love the scarf, the textures are beautiful. Who cares about “men’s stuff” and “women’s stuff”, just wear what you want to wear! Particularly when it’s such a lovely piece 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

