Review: LA 5505, Afghan Lovers Collection

Afghan Lovers Collection by Anne Halliday, Melissa Leapman, and Barbara Shaffers, Leisure Arts #5505, 2011. Paper back and digital editions available. Grade: A

It is very rare for me to like every single afghan pattern in a book devoted to them. This giant leaflet has thirty-six afghans and I might never have the chance to crochet all of them. First I have to finish the ones I started.

As with just about all Leisure Arts pattern sets, I appreciate the fact no particular yarn is suggested. Do you feel like using Cascade 220? Go right ahead. Do you want to roll on over to the big box store and pick up some Red Heart acrylic? It’s all good. All they do is tell you the gauge and the weight of the yarn (worsted, DK, etc.). If you’ve never bought a publication from this company you don’t know what you’re missing. No, this is not an advertisement. I am just that much of a fan. An afghan collection is a good leaflet to start with in your addiction. Always wait for a sale, go to the web site, and buy some patterns from this publisher.

Anyway, I have digressed. Getting back on track, one of the aspects of this book that I really enjoy is how the patterns offer a variety of constructions. There are squares to put together, large modular chunks to assemble, and afghans crocheted all in one piece.

The combinations of texture and color are also spectacular. “Tiny Twirls” is a fine example, in which the textured circles create a burst of color in every square.

Some of the color choices were poor for the photographed samples, but that can be fixed: Use better colors.

I recommend this book to crocheters who love afghans and need more patterns. Alternatively, crocheters who just love afghans will also want to get this title. The regular price for this publication is US $9.99 but there’s always a sale to take advantage of. Most American holidays I get an email from them telling me there’s a digital or printed pattern sale.

3 thoughts on “Review: LA 5505, Afghan Lovers Collection

  1. Tami June 7, 2017 / 1:56 am

    I will be checking this one out! I’ve fallen into an afghan rut and want to be inspired by something fresh! I will be taking a peek at amazon right after I post this comment. I’ve seen so many ripples and grannies lately it makes me not want to do either of those maybe ever again. I’m certainly not saying that they aren’t gorgeous because they are. I’m looking for something unique with a little bit of wow in it. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tami June 7, 2017 / 2:00 am

      Ooooooo yes this will do nicely. I already can tell which ones I want on my hook when September rolls around!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • tonymarkp June 7, 2017 / 11:38 pm

        If I ever finish the afghans I’m working on I want my next project to be from this leaflet. So glad you found some stuff to get excited about.

        Like

Leave a Reply

