Three pairs of socks

I set a goal for myself: By June I’d have six pairs of socks completed. It didn’t happen. It’s logical because every time I set a knitting goal for myself I do not follow through. I have finished a lot of sweaters this year, after all.

The nice thing about goals is that they can be subjected to reassessment. I have reassessed my goal as unrealistic for this year so it is now in the trash.

I’m very happy with my socks. It’s too hot to wear them so I haven’t washed and blocked them yet. I’ll get around to that after I prep the last wool sweater for summer storage.

You might recall that the red socks have quite the history. I originally wanted to try a triangles stitch pattern but I didn’t like it so I went for cables. Then, I ran out of yarn. Last month I ordered more red sock yarn and finished them. The neon striped socks were really fun to knit as were the Arne and Carlos self-patterning socks that are to the left of the red ones. The red socks aren’t exactly looking good in the photo. Did you know it’s really difficult to photograph red things? I got fed up and left them as they were in the picture. The other two pair look fantastic.

Of course, I started a new pair of socks last night. This time I found a skein of Cascade Heritage Prints. More self-patterning yarn! I’ll post about them next week when we can really appreciate the pattern that emerges.

I missed WIP Wednesday so here is my sister’s crochet pineapple shawl in progress.

I’m happy with how it’s developing. I started with one pineapple panel and two shell panels. I then increased to three pineapples and then rapidly to seven. Now on every repeat I add one pineapple panel to each end of the shawl. I like how the self-striping yarn makes it a little difficult to see the pineapples but then they’re noticeable with a more careful inspection.

So, whew! Finally some FOs to share. This weekend, if I don’t drink any alcohol, I think I’ll work on my blue knitted lace scarf. Have fun, everybody!

14 thoughts on “Three pairs of socks

  1. quietwatercraft June 2, 2017 / 12:08 pm

    Ahh so red things are difficult to photograph, it’s not just my camera being rubbish?
    I love the neon stripe socks, they look fun to wear!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 2, 2017 / 1:36 pm

      Your camera is fine! Sometimes getting red out of bright light helps a lot.

      Like

    • tonymarkp June 2, 2017 / 1:37 pm

      And of course, thank you very much!

      Like

  2. MrsCraft June 3, 2017 / 10:49 am

    Great socks, and that shawl is going to be fabulous. I love projects that make you look again and see something new. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 3, 2017 / 2:06 pm

      Thank you so much! I really can’t wait to block the shawl and give it a proper photo shoot before I send it off to my sister.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Tami June 3, 2017 / 11:41 pm

    I have found that every time I start a sentence with “if I don’t drink any alcohol” then I really already had my mind made up that I would in fact be drinking alcohol! I recently watched an episode of Anthony Bordain’s Parts Unknown where he visited Granada – I very much believe that the stork was supposed to drop me off anywhere in Spain but somehow got very mixed up and delivered me to the Southeastern part of Connecticut. I need to live in the land of tapas! Of course in the US the closest I can do is a Budweiser and a bag of Doritos!! Love the socks by the way!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 4, 2017 / 12:03 am

      I actually knitted some of my scarf yesterday and today, so I didn’t drink much. I lived in Granada for a while. It’s really a beautiful and unique city. Now I’m drinking alcohol, and the scarf is nowhere near me, because I’ll screw it up big time!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tami June 4, 2017 / 1:42 am

        I think a Drunk/Tipsy CAL would be fun!! The only rule would be that you CANNOT frog a single stitch! It would be so funny to see what everyone ended up with the next morning!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • tonymarkp June 4, 2017 / 11:15 pm

        Haha! Giving a whole new meaning to free-form crochet! Let’s say we started one with six participants. The CAL is for a cowl. Six finished projects following the same pattern: 1) a doily 2) a tangled mess 3) a sweater with three sleeves 4) a rug 5) a dog toy 6) a baby bonnet.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Tami June 4, 2017 / 11:54 pm

        LMAO too too funny!!!!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 4, 2017 / 11:10 pm

      Thank you! I learned to crochet before I learned to knit, so it is definitely possible, I’m living proof. I wish I had some sage advice on learning to knit. I tried and failed many times when I started learning and finally I just “got it” because I think I was just determined. It was kind of like when I finally mastered fractions in fourth-grade math class.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

