Tardy Thursday

I missed WIP Wednesday. I didn’t forget, I just had to work. Also, I’ve been swatching a crochet stitch pattern that I wanted to get “just right.”

This week, as last, crochet has been the dominant craft. I have plenty of knitting to do, I’ve just been distracted by crochet. I think the weather is helping direct my attention to crochet, because I typically find it more comfortable for hotter weather. This week has brought some seriously high temperatures so I’ve been working a lot with cotton.

Mostly, I’ve been crocheting my table cloth and my green “Telegraph Sweater”.

The work on these projects got sidetracked, though, because in my free time, on Monday, I started getting obsessed about a Schöppel Lace Ball that’s in my stash. It has many shades of blue so it has my sister’s name written all over it. It could have my name written all over it, too, because my favorite color is blue as well, but I haven’t made my big sister a shawl in a while. She is big on crochet, so I thought I’d crochet the shawl, and I decided it had to be covered in pineapples. Do you know a crocheter that doesn’t need a pineapple shawl? I thought not.

The problem was finding an appropriate pattern. The “Ananas Shawl” by Zsuzsanna Makai caught my eye, but to wear it you have to have the tropical fruits running sideways. I just know the wearer will want upright pineapples. Some other designs drew me in, but they weren’t triangles. My sister doesn’t do giant shawls. When I make her one, she most often uses it like a big scarf. Long story short: I had to work out my own pineapple pattern.

How do you crochet a triangular fabric covered in pineapples? With lots of planning. These fruity things are not exactly simple to design with, even though following a pineapple pattern is really easy. After a lot of trial and error, and browsing my doily patterns, I realized that you basically need to think about your pineapples in panels. Double-v stitch is the most common thing to frame them with, and happily they can force a fabric to take on just about any shape you want: triangles, circles, squares, and so on. I swatched away with some cheap dollar store yarn and finally, after trying to learn how to use software for making crochet charts, I now have a game plan.

What could be harder than designing with pineapples? Figuring out how to use computer software to create crochet charts. Yes, I could have written the pattern out line-by-line, but I was experimenting and swatching, so I was desperate for a quick visual. Here’s my horribly messy, unprofessional chart, that will work just fine for me when I start this shawl:

pineappleshawl

I really need to practice more with this crochet charting program, which is really wonderful and convenient. Right now I’m pretty sloppy, but it’s just for my reference so, why worry? If you’d like to give the application a spin, it’s available for free.

This chart is not a pattern, really, it’s my personal record of what I need to do when I get going on the project. If you want to use it, feel free to do so at your own risk because I was just looking for the repeat for the increases. To understand how to make the pattern continue and grow larger, just pay attention to the increases. The double-v stitch panels are increasing over several rows. So, what will happen is that you will add many pineapples to the pattern at once. You start with one, then stitch two, then four, etc. The number of pineapples increases rapidly because they depend on the increases done on the double-v stitch panels. Really, it’s nothing special and this type of thing can be found in a lot of patterns, especially for doilies. The trick is to remember to start increasing for the new pineapples that will come later while still finishing off the old pineapples.

7 thoughts on “Tardy Thursday

  1. MrsCraft May 26, 2017 / 1:12 am

    You are very clever to have worked that out and charted it, I shall look forward to seeing the finished shawl 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp May 26, 2017 / 1:14 am

      Thank you so much. I’m really excited about getting it started. Especially because… pineapples!

      Like

  2. handmade habit May 26, 2017 / 7:49 am

    I re-iterate the comment above; how ingenious to have charted out the pineapple shawl design. Sounds positively lovely. Looking forward to seeing more of the shawl, Tony. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tami May 26, 2017 / 1:04 pm

    I prefer diagrams over written patterns. I’m going to take a look at the software utility you used. I’ve used Stitch Fiddle before which is also free. I’ve only used it a few time to try to work out C2C and Filet patterns. I love lacy crochet – can’t wait to see it when it’s done!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp May 26, 2017 / 1:40 pm

      The first thing I tried when I was working this out was Stitch Fiddle and I didn’t like it for something like this because I felt like I had to repeat too many things but it is a very good way to make charts. I want to get started on this shawl very soon! It’s pineapplesI which I think are the funnest things to crochet. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tami May 26, 2017 / 3:17 pm

        Thanks for the heads up on that – I haven’t tried stitch fiddle out for diagrams yet. Pineapples are fun!!! Throw some popcorn stitches in there and you’ve got a nice little picnic going! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

