Crocheting all the things

I did it. I started yet another crochet project, which is a shawl for my big sister. This means:

List of things I’m crocheting:

  • Hexagons afghan
  • Tunisian crochet afghan with lots of blocks
  • A tablecloth
  • A pineapple shawl
  • A “Telegraph” sweater

List of things I’m knitting:

  • A pair of self-patterning socks
  • A blue lace scarf

I have seven projects going at the same time. The majority of them are crochet projects. I have been a very naughty crafter.

When I started the shawl this evening it was dark and rainy and guess what my first color on the Lace Ball self-striping yarn was? A blackish blue. I managed to increase to three pineapples and gave up trying to see where to insert my hook. This yarn is very fine and I’m using a 1.3 mm needle, so it was very hard to see my work, even with a lamp lighting my way. I’ll keep going on it tomorrow in the daylight.

Now that I officially have seven projects going I am very worried. I don’t think I’ll ever finish anything. This is the largest number of WIPs I’ve ever had going at once. I kept telling myself today, “you can’t start something else until you finish your blue lace scarf” but I caved. It’s self-striping yarn for a pineapple shawl, after all. I can’t say no to blue pineapples!

11 thoughts on “Crocheting all the things

  1. nothingbutknit2 May 27, 2017 / 12:05 am

    That thinking you’ll never finish anything feeling is very familiar to me. You’ll get there eventually:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp May 27, 2017 / 12:54 am

      Thank you for the reassurance. I don’t know what happened to me. I’ve never been this starty. I like to finish stuff, usually. On the other hand, why should I be disciplined with a hobby? Right? It’s supposed to be fun. I’m going to focus on that. Thank you for your point of view, it made me remember it’s a hobby and I need to lighten up.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tami May 27, 2017 / 3:23 am

    I don’t think I have ever had 7. I believe 5 was my top number of wips. You are either the most ambitious and optimistic crafter ever or the most distracted crafter ever. For crochet I have what I call “CrochADD” – which is the inability to complete the foundation chain of a crochet project without already planning the next project. I have also found when I try to discipline myself by saying “no more yarn purchases until you use some up” and “no starting a new project until you finish one” it causes my spiteful side to come out and say “You can’t tell me what to do!” They will all get done when they get done. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. claire93 May 27, 2017 / 7:41 pm

    I’m a cross stitcher first & foremost, and it’s quite common to have several of those projects on the go. I imagine it’s the same with crochet – 7 does seem quite a lot though, one for each day of the week perhaps?

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp May 27, 2017 / 10:25 pm

      Eventually some will ride on the back burner as I finish others, I think!

      Liked by 1 person

      • claire93 May 28, 2017 / 1:38 pm

        I think it’s nice to have several projects on the go because it depends on what mood you’re in when you sit down to craft.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Pam @hooksandhills June 1, 2017 / 7:13 am

    You can never have too many wips! All will be well 🙂
    Btw, you’re brave with a 1.3mm – by smallest to date is a 2.5mm and I think that’s my limit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 1, 2017 / 7:56 am

      Since last week I revised to 1.65 mm because 1.3 was splitting the wool.

      Like

  5. Robin June 12, 2017 / 1:53 pm

    I keep saying that I won’t start a new project until I finish all of the old ones. So far, that hasn’t worked. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp June 14, 2017 / 1:34 am

      Yeah! I often compare it to having a wicked bad hangover so, now I’ve learned to say, with a hangover, “I shall drink again” and when I want to start a new project I evaluate the situation and start it if I can. I have found that starting something new gets something else finished. We started the new thing because we were slogging, then the new thing gets old and we go back to the slog and finish without slogging (so much).

      Like

Leave a Reply

