Contradictory Frogging Friday

Today it’s FO Frogging Friday. That’s one contradiction.

I was very happy to unravel my project. I was so happy I took a picture of the resulting balls of yarn and never, in the history of this wanton WIP that is now RIPped, ever photographed it. I love these balls of #4 fingering weight yarn.

Photo May 19, 13 40 58

The brown ones are safe and snug in the stash. The green one is now engaged in a new creation.

Formerly known as a project of mine, the offender in question was an “Adult Surprise Jacket” designed by the very pithy Elizabeth Zimmerman, queen of garter stitch and empress of knitterly ingenuity. According to Ravelry, there are currently 860 projects logged on the social stitching site, among which mine was never counted. That is how excited I was about knitting it off and on for the past year. Man was it a bore. It’s not the pattern’s fault. I made bad life choices.

My first poor decision was to choose fingering weight yarn for it. Of course, the pattern is written for any yarn the knitter chooses. So, I had all this fingering weight wool – and I still have it, about two kilos of it – and I said, “Cool! All I have to do is calculate smartly like these pithy directions explain and I can knit myself a fingering weight jacket! With random stripes! Yesyesyesyesyesyesyes.” The knitting was boring, but I persevered. 396 stitches a row, gradually decreasing to 220, only to be increased back up to 396, in garter stitch. I picked it up. I put it back down. I actually managed in a year to get to step two, beginning the double increase phase after the initial decrease phase. I randomly chose when to change colors. Knitting it in a different color from time to time did not take the boredom away. I put it down. I picked it up.

I did not realize until recently that I had made a second bad life decision: color. I put it down and let it sit in my project bin for about a week, disgusted with it without knowing why. Then I picked it up last Wednesday or Thursday and I looked at it and I said, “Oh my God, the colors are like the kitchen appliances we had when I was a kid!” If you are old enough you might get my drift. Way back in the good old days, at least in the Fifty States of America, we went through an avocado green appliance phase. The fridge, the stove, and any other modern convenience connected to electricity and installed in the kitchen was avocado green for lots of people, to the extent that I think we could say it was all the rage. My parents weren’t very well-off and when the 1980s rolled around – and this “kitchen color way” went out of style – they just stuck with what they had. And then, the unspeakable: our 1970s gag-worthy-looking appliances added a new buddy to their horrendous color crowd. Alongside our avocado green washing machine came its new mate, a dark brown dryer. It was exciting to have an electrical dryer in 1983. Until then my mom had to hang out the laundry, even in the winter time. Convenient as it was, we the family often referred to it as the “turd” floating in “snot.”

So that did it. My cardigan was actually the horrendous color combination of the kitchen we had when I was a child. Boredom and the yuck feeling combined to make me hate the project.

This afternoon I frogged and frogged, feeling very happy. And then I had to work. Once freed from my teaching duties, with the green yarn, I started a “Telegraph” sweater by Peter Franzi. If happy to be frogging isn’t contradictory enough, we now have a new conundrum. I actually said on this blog that although I wanted to start another sweater by this designer I wasn’t about to get going on one right now. I didn’t feel like doing the dc and hdc flo rounds. I got over it in a very brief amount of time, apparently, and I must say that the alternating rounds of dc and hdc flo are not bugging me one bit. I’m actually pondering a top-down crochet sweater of my own invention because I have some yarn reserved for such an endeavor, but instead I was drawn to the “Telegraph.” I really love this shade of green in isolation. Now that I’ve taken away the poop color that was our family’s first dryer, it’s a cheerful hue to work with.

Anyway, the past couple of hours I’ve been hooking away at my sweater and I’m very pleased. You might recall that I made a super-sized version of this pullover earlier this year, to go over extra layers of clothing to do outdoor things in winter without having to fuss with a coat or a jacket. (Hint for hikers and explorers: a big wool sweater that fits loosely at the bottom and can go over all your other clothing allows more freedom of movement than a zip-up coat or three-quarter). I decided I also wanted one in a normal size because I just think it’s an awesome sweater to wear any time. The sooner the better, right?

I’m still obsessing over my top-down crocheted sweater. I’m afraid to commit to a stitch pattern, actually. I’ve been browsing dictionaries and making swatches and I can’t make up my mind.

If you’re frogging, I hope you’re enjoying it. If you are frogging and irritated, remember that you are 1) freeing yourself from a terrible project and 2) getting ready to start a new, exciting, and wonderful project. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Contradictory Frogging Friday

  1. nothingbutknit2 May 19, 2017 / 11:52 pm

    Avocado appliances! That is a memory from my kitchen growing up.
    Your new sweater will be wonderful:) Two colors sometimes play very wrong together.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp May 20, 2017 / 12:00 am

      The 1970s-early 1980s really did a number on me. More than once I’ve pondered creating things combining orange with green and I’ve checked myself. It doesn’t help that occasionally you see a resurgence of these perverted color vomitings in fashion.

      Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp May 20, 2017 / 12:29 am

      I usually do too, but this was like a year-long puzzle as to why I hated this thing. Frogging it was like punishing it and sending it to its room without any TV for the rest of its life.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anita May 20, 2017 / 5:11 am

    Man does it seem like such a relief to have frogged this one. Yes, sometimes it’s better to just kill it and start something new, and the thought of a (hopefully) better project is what makes frogging a joy then, instead of a heart wrenching affair.
    Good luck for the new sweater!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. claire93 May 20, 2017 / 11:16 am

    I’m laughing at the avocado green kitchen you grew up with. For me (I’m probably about the same age) it was an avocado bathroom that my parents had installed. We lived in the UK.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp May 20, 2017 / 1:34 pm

      Oh yes, we also had an avocado bathroom, and in the living room avocado wallpaper. I think that was the end of wallpaper in the USA. In the 1980s more people just painted the walls.

      Like

  4. quietwatercraft May 22, 2017 / 12:04 pm

    I’ve only enjoyed frogging once before, when a hat I had tried at least 4 times was just refusing to cooperate. I was quite gleeful pulling that back into a yarn ball!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

