Some old, some new

The WIP saga continues and the FO story seems to have slammed into a wall. Guess what FOs I’m sharing on “FO Friday?” Did you guess ZERO? Dingdingdingding!!!!

Since I seem to be dragging my rear through my WIPs, I’ll just remind you of what I’m working on: Dewdly Blue Knitted Lace Scarf, Crochet Afghan Made of Hexagons, Tunisian Crochet Afghan, Arne & Carlos Self-Patterning Socks. I could link to older posts about them all, but who cares? It’s too much work for you to click on them and I feel too lazy to link to them. If I’m going to drag my behind, I’m going to do it with an “all in” attitude. That includes not bothering with photographing them all. I dare say, though, that I should take pride in the Dewdly Blue Lace Scarf because the ball of yarn has got a lot smaller and the scarf has grown considerably.

To make the WIP experience less drab I’ve started a new WIP. It’s a crochet table cloth:

fans2

It could look complex to a casual eye, but it’s wicked easy. The square gets bigger by repeating the same pattern over and over, adding more and more fans. The fans are sort of like truncated pineapples because that’s how a lot of pineapples begin to develop in a lot of patterns, starting with the famous row of clusters. I got the idea from a YouTube video from Milagros Ena’s channel. It’s in Spanish. I’m sorry if you don’t speak Spanish.

This square can also be turned into a triangle to create a shawl, as Milagros demonstrates in another video:

So, as you can see, often a repeated stitch pattern can be used in a variety of ways to create different shapes to suit your needs. I think this would look fantastic as a shawl with a self-striping yarn with very long stripes, like in the popular Lace Ball, which is made by the same company that produces the Zauberball sock yarn.

Autopilot crochet is my therapy this week, I think. The best part is that my dining table is a square most days. Once a year it gets expanded into a rectangle. So, when I feel like making the living room look super cool I can throw this table cloth on it. That is, when I finish this thing.

This is so autopilot that I can crochet it while thinking about which border I want to finish it off with!

I hope you have had time to play around with your yarns and threads this week. šŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Some old, some new

  1. handmade habit May 17, 2017 / 5:22 pm

    As a novice crocheter, it’s hard to imagine this as an autopilot stitch (but I believe you!) – the pattern is absolutely gorgeous and looks very intricate and complex. It will make a stunning tablecloth. Beautiful colour, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp May 17, 2017 / 10:10 pm

      Thank you! If you continue crocheting and decide to try out crocheting with cotton thread, in no time you will be doing this type of “autopilot” crochet. Lots of rounds are “ch5, sc in next space, ch5, sc in next space, 2dc, ch3, 2dc…” It’s soothingly redundant for the end of a hard day of work. I’ve got it memorized after two repeats.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. MrsCraft May 18, 2017 / 12:38 am

    You can’t beat a bit of autopilot crochet! The blue yarn is really striking, it’s going to be a cracking table cloth šŸ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

