I forgot I had Arne & Carlos sock yarn

One of the things that can happen when you stock up your stash is that you can get distracted for years by projects you’re stitching away at and forget that you bought this or that stray skein of yarn for “some day.” I have recently finished a couple of pairs of socks that I’ll write about another day. This means, of course, that I had to make a trip to the stash in the wee hours of Friday night to get some more sock yarn. I just can’t finish socks without starting another pair right away, you know. Anyway, I opened a bin and there I saw it: Regia “Design Line by Arne & Carlos” self-patterning yarn for socks. I think I probably bought it two or more years ago. Of course I got a toe-up sock started right away.  I’m having fun with it. I began the toe last night and I haven’t put them down much this weekend. My progress is promising:

Photo May 06, 2 43 08 PM

I’m pretty happy with this, but I am beginning to wonder if the number of stitches casted on will determine the pattern that appears on the socks. I keep looking at the photo on the yarn label and comparing it with what’s working up on my needles and the design that is developing is not exactly the same. It’s the same in a generic sort of way, but in the photo it seems to me that the patterning is a little more defined. I’m not worried about the quality of the dyeing that was performed on this yarn. I’m concerned that, since I cast on a lot more stitches for socks that will fit me, it will change the results. I seem to think that the average sock knitter who makes socks for themselves tends to have smaller feet.

Recently I bought another skein of Arne & Carlos sock yarn and it’s the “third edition” of self-patterning color ways so I think I’m pretty eager to get this pair finished and work on some different Arne & Carlos yarn to see if I get “better” results. I’ve put “better” in quotes because I don’t really know if my eyes are playing tricks on me or if I need to get more of the sock knitted to see if there are some more interesting and well-defined patterns to come on these socks. I suppose it’s good motivation to get the socks finished faster. If I’m eager to see how the designs play out in my knitting I’ll have to knit more.

I’ve decided to knit these socks toe-up because A) I’ve just finished two pairs cuff-down and I need a change; B) I want to try doing a short-row heel again, the kind that creates a nifty wedge. As you might remember from my posts about toe-up sock knitting I was not happy with the short-row “wedge” heel because I didn’t like the little holes that appeared at the ends of the short rows. I went on to work on my own gusset and heel flap toe-up socks and I got nice results with those. However, I have learned from wearing them that, at the end of a day of wearing them, the gussets stretch out more than I care for. After a washing they correct themselves and spring back into shape, but then I wear them and they stretch out again. So, back to the short-row heel. It’s more my OCD style anyway. I wouldn’t want to interrupt the Arne & Carlos self-patterning, now would I? I mean, you never know, maybe some day I’ll be wearing them and some official person with authority will have to inspect my shoes, feet, and socks.

6 thoughts on “I forgot I had Arne & Carlos sock yarn

    • tonymarkp May 6, 2017 / 10:01 pm

      Thanks! I love finding happy surprises lurking in the bins.

      Like

  1. Tami May 7, 2017 / 12:18 pm

    I love that yarn! I’m not a knitter but I love watching Arne & Carlos tutorials on youtube! Some absolutely gorgeous designs!! I discovered a bag full of Lion Brand Homespun in a closet the other day – 6 skeins and I can’t remember what I was intending to make with it! Makes me wonder where else I may have stashed some yarn. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp May 7, 2017 / 2:07 pm

      Thank you for the tip! I didn’t realize they had YouTube tutorials. I just looked them up. They’ve got some good stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bonnyknits May 7, 2017 / 2:35 pm

    That yarn is so cool! I didn’t know there was self-patterning yarn too! Glad there’s more yarn that I can covet. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

