WIP Wednesday: This blog

Over the weekend I went through my blog and added two more buttons to the homepage: “Food” and “Free Patterns.” So, the organization project has almost reached its end.

Two things surprised me while I was doing this exercise: I have shared more recipes on this blog than I remembered and I hadn’t realized that I wrote so many free patterns. A lot of the patterns were for demonstrating a point I wanted to make, so they aren’t all that special, but still, I didn’t expect to see as many as I did. If you look at the list it’s pretty short, but those of you who have been following me know that I’m not at all interested in becoming a prolific pattern writer. I’m more interested in doing a pattern if I think it’s useful as a learning tool.

I have two favorites from my list of recipes so far: “Chicken Chili” and “Pot pies.” As a matter of fact, I think I might make some pot pies soon because I have some leftover pot roast to use up. Seeing the recipe got me in the mood.

From the “Free Patterns” list my personal favorite is the “Wavy Crochet Bucket Bag” because I really like how I designed the shape of it. It isn’t entirely a bucket and it’s more like a bag, standing upright all on its own with a nice curve to it coming up from the bottom and into the body. I also really adore the colors I chose for it, although I’d also like to make some in the future with wilder colors.

Something that relieves me about creating these buttons and pages is that the posts that matter to me don’t need a complete overhaul in terms of photography. There certainly is room for improvement, but it isn’t urgent. I know that I have some pretty horrid photos in other posts but a lot of my best ones were used for the links I’ve listed on my pages. I think out of all of them the pictures of food are the worst, simply because I’m not exactly a food stylist. There are so many excellent blogs about cooking with truly beautiful photos, but I think it’s mainly because the authors have spent a lot of time adding “ingredients” to the dishes that aren’t really for eating. A food stylist once told me that she used Elmer’s glue to decorate a bowl of cereal, so that it looked absolutely perfect with drops of “milk” decorating the cereal flakes. And me? A lot of the pictures of food I’ve posted have been of the dish just before I was going to eat it! I really can’t dream of setting up a dish to take a “just so” picture only to dump it in the trash. I want to snap a shot and then dive in and eat the thing.

Food notwithstanding, in the future I’d like to add a button for a list of links to every project I have ever finished and featured on the blog. I think that could take a while because I’ve written about a lot of FOs. Another one I’d like to add is a list of book reviews I’ve done. First, though, I need to review more books, leaflets, etc. I have plenty to talk about and recommend, that’s for sure. I just need to get off my rear end and start reviewing what I’ve got in my library.

 

4 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: This blog

  1. Tami May 2, 2017 / 10:55 pm

    I’m with you on the food photos – mine are not good! But the food is and the recipe is!! I’m going to poke around on your page a little bit! I must see those recipes and that basketbag!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp May 3, 2017 / 5:44 am

      I’m going to be digging into your recipes. Your eclairs look divine and I’m pretty sure your ideas about food will be very useful to me!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pam @ Hooks and Hills May 12, 2017 / 10:30 pm

    That’s hysterical about the food photos, I had no idea!
    Are you on Ravelry? I’m using it to track finished objects (amongst other things), it’s nice to see them all in one place.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp May 12, 2017 / 10:38 pm

      Yes I am! My user name on there is tonymp

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

