Another three-day weekend!

Spain has this thing about it that even the natives joke around about. Over here we say, “Los españoles siempre nos apuntamos a cualquier fiesta.” “Fiesta” here does not mean “party.” It means “holiday.” The phrase translates to “We, the Spanish, will always sign up for any holiday.” There are lots of holidays. First of all, if it’s a Roman Catholic holiday, you can be pretty sure that Spain observes and duly shuts down most work activity to observe it. Then we have the patron saints that look over the towns and the cities. Every town or city has a patron saint (or two, take Valladolid for example, where I reside). The saint is celebrated by the town when the date comes up, with live music, amusement park rides for children on the street, and a good helping of public drinking and eating. There are little stands set up like bars on most squares and on wide sidewalks.

April and May have brought us some “festivos” that have called for three-day weekends. When we went away to Holland that was a three-day weekend, in fact. Last Monday was Castile and Leon Day, which celebrates the Autonomous Community. That wasn’t a national holiday. Only here in Castile and Leon was it observed. Three weeks ago was Holy Week, Semana Santa, which in most English-speaking countries isn’t a reason to shut everything down for days because the Christians are mostly just interested in Easter Sunday. Easter Sunday in Spain is not too important. Nobody colors eggs. There is no Easter Bunny. No chocolates. Spain really needs to understand that Cadbury is where it’s at. Don’t you just love Cadbury chocolates? I miss them. Anyway, Holy Week is just a week during which a lot of the days things are closed (or closed early) and many people don’t have to work much.

And now we have another holiday, which of course is Labor Day, celebrated by most of Europe. In the USA labor day is in September, mostly, I think, thanks to the cold war, because anyone my age from America who thinks about “May Day” imagines a bunch of communist Soviets prancing around a May Pole. America is just as silly as any other nation, with its “they do it over there but we don’t do it here” attitude (I love David Bowie, I just quoted his song ‘Fashion.’) Anyway, I think we can see why in Spain we say we just sign up for whatever holiday. Pagan, Catholic, nationally significant, some American custom that helps sell more toys (I’m looking at you, Santa Claus, and also you, Black Friday), it’s all good.

At home we’re actually a bit tired of the three-day weekend excess. It wreaks havoc on our work, actually, because we have things to do and we can’t do them because we’re sort of forced to not work.

So, I thought that tomorrow I might like to take advantage of my extra free time and mop the floors and maybe dust the furniture. But I think I’ll play with my yarn instead. I thought that a whole Saturday and Sunday of crocheting would satisfy my need to play with my yarn, but this sofa here, it’s getting mighty comfortable. It’s also rainy, so waiting for the floors to dry will be annoying. All day today we watched things on Netflix and I worked on my hexagons afghan. It’s getting bigger. Maybe tomorrow I’ll either A) finish a self-striping sock or B) add some squares to my Tunisian crochet afghan. Perhaps I’ll get up the nerve to work on my lace scarf. That whole “one pattern repeat a day” promise to myself has met its demise, mostly because I get too tired to read the chart by the time I can actually sit down and focus. Tomorrow I have no excuses, so maybe I’ll lace knit. Who knows?

If tomorrow is not a holiday for you where you are, I’m sorry. If it is, I hope you play with your yarn and leave the housework for another day. It is Labor Day, after all. Sign up and shut it all down! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Another three-day weekend!

  1. nothingbutknit2 May 1, 2017 / 12:13 am

    It’s always better to play with yarn than clean!
    I’m all for embracing holidays. Maybe you could petition for a celebrate Cadbury chocolate holiday. I’d be in for that:)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Tami May 1, 2017 / 1:54 am

    I am declaring a holiday for myself tomorrow – Start a New Crochet Project Day! I finished the pillows that I had been working on so now I get to have a yarn party to pick my next project! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp May 1, 2017 / 8:48 am

      That is a great plan for a Monday!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. jessicacrafts May 1, 2017 / 6:15 pm

    That’s really interesting. We always go on holiday to the canary islands at the same time every year and I realised recently that I’ve never seen any of the supermarkets selling easter eggs and wondered why. Thank you for solving that mystery!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp May 1, 2017 / 6:17 pm

      You’re welcome! Every once in a while I see a chocolate bunny (usually imported) but no egg imagery.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

