What to do?

It seems that last month I completed four years of blogging and I did not even notice. Way back when I started writing this blog on Blogspot. A couple of years ago I moved here to WordPress and I am so glad that I did! This format fits my needs so much better because it encourages more socializing among bloggers. I am also delighted to see that there are so many other bloggers on here like me who just want to have a place to talk about their favorite craft and share in the joy of yarn and crafting. In December I started thinking about what I wanted to do on the blog in the future but I don’t think I thought quite hard enough! Now that I see four years have passed, I think I need to get a little more serious about how I want this blog to look.

My problem is that, looking at my blog in chronological order, there is an ocean of updates about projects I worked on with some little tiny sprouts of tutorials and how-tos. The main purpose of my blog is most certainly not didactic, but it has some didactic elements. I am pretty sure that this month I am going to sift through my blog and evaluate the didactic or “useful” posts and try presenting them on the blog in an easy to access way. It’s true that anyone can search the blog posts by keyword or category, but often the handy posts are buried in with the “ooo look what I made!” posts.

Anyway, fellow knitters, crocheters, and crafters, this is perhaps a “useful” post for you if you have been blogging for two years or less. If you keep at it for a year or two more you will one day be lounging on your sofa as I am, with the TV on having looked at soup recipes for ideas on making a different kind of soup and then you will put down your knitting when you suddenly realize that your blog isn’t user friendly anymore because it’s totally 100% chronological despite the fact that yes, your posts have categories and your blog is searchable. You will perhaps ponder the situation as I am right now and consider the best ways to confront it.

Fortunately, this blogging site has lots of ways to deal with this issue and I have spent about 10 minutes exploring them and considering them. For instance, you can use pages. One option I’m considering is to add a page of organized links to all posts with patterns or how-tos. There is also the widget option, in which I might feature only a few of the “useful” posts in terms of how popular they are or how useful I might think they are. I could also make use of both. The problem with widgets is that they can be too long and require too much scrolling. Pages, although practical, require navigating by pressing a button. The button needs to be labeled really well so it catches a reader’s eye.

And then we have the “why bother?” option. Simply put, not many people visit the blog site because my blog is more “social” than “commercial.” Well, that’s an understatement. My blog is 0% commercial and 100% social. My audience is primarily other bloggers who see my stuff in the reader.

Weighing the “why bother?” against the feeling that I must organize this blog a bit better, I think organization is way more important. This is because: I’m a neat freak! Also, if I organize my blog and really look carefully at my utilitarian material, I might feel inspired to make those posts even better. Some of the older ones need better photos, for example, or be revised to be even more helpful. I’m pretty sure my sock tutorial is in need of better photos as well as an expansion on methods. I don’t even use dpns anymore and my blog has a tutorial on how to knit socks on dpns. Talk about not practicing what you preach, right?

Anyway, that’s what I’m going to be up to in March. I’m going to sift through my blog and decide on how to present my older but potentially useful posts and maybe even update some of those posts with improved photos and expanded text. Maybe by April or May I’ll have something decent for my blog home page to exhibit.

Also, to all of you out there reading this: Thank you for sharing in the joy of blogging about crafting. I really enjoy reading your blogs too! I learn a lot from you and share in your pleasure of creating. 🙂

4 thoughts on “What to do?

  1. nothingbutknit2 March 8, 2017 / 11:55 pm

    It is surprising how blogging has evolved. I just changed the theme on my blog and have to figure out what to do next. I’ll be interested to see what you do:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp March 8, 2017 / 11:58 pm

      Thanks! It’s hard to decide because I have to think about what makes sense. I’m going to look at blogs for ideas, too, paying more attention to the format and not allowing myself to get distracted by the pretty things! Changing themes can be unnerving if you didn’t get the info you needed from the preview.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anita March 9, 2017 / 3:29 am

    Spring cleaning? ☺ (Congratulations on the anniversary, by the way!)
    I’d ask that you not remove tutorials for techniques that you don’t use anymore. They’d still be of use to someone else!
    Good luck with the reorganizing! I’m looking forward to the changes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp March 9, 2017 / 8:12 am

      I absolutely wouldn’t remove a tutorial. But I definitely would make it better or add more stuff to it. Thank you for the luck! I just hope I make the right choices overall.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

