Crack that WIP!

It’s Wednesday. Time to WIP it good.

I have no idea if I was just a genius or absolutely, positively unoriginal, but I just couldn’t help myself. And now, for the WIPs. I’ve been working on two. I am really having so much fun working on them that I am indeed WIP-ing it good. So good, that while I’m working on them I keep thinking about how I want to make a million more of them, with different colors, with different yarns, with different “hacks.” I’m like gushing every time I pick them up and work on them.

First up is my “Alec XL” which I’ve been dying to cast on since I bought the pattern. I ordered some blue Rowan Pure Wool Worsted for it a few months ago and it’s been sitting in my stash. It’s still in my stash because, after Christmas, and with all the sales on Love Knitting’s online shop, I talked myself into buying some Rowan Pure Wool Superwash Worsted to make another one. I managed to talk myself into the purchase by saying, “this one will be for José and in reality I’m being generous because he’ll get a nice new sweater out of this even though I need more yarn like I need a hole in my head.” Oh, how evilly twisted the yarn shopping mind will be. I bought it because I want to play with the yarn and the pattern twice. There is no selflessness going on here. The really twisted thing about it is that José will think, “awwww, he made me yet another sweater! how generous.” Mwahahaha.

Here’s my progress so far. It’s a top-down sweater, my favorite kind to make.

photo-jan-25-12-03-29-pm

The sweater is very intelligently designed, with a front chest area sporting a nicely textured stitch pattern that is a two-row repeat. The back and lower part of the sweater – along with the sleeves – are stockinette. I love the color way, too. It’s called “Green Wash” and it’s light enough to show off the stitch pattern and interesting to knit with on the stockinette parts. It’s a good sweater to knit at a knitting club meeting, while traveling, binging on TV shows and movies, etc. because it’s pretty simple. I just might have to adjust the shoulder part at the top for sizing because I wanted to leave about 4″ of ease but the wearer’s shoulders are a bit narrow. We shall see. It’s top-down so all it will need is a quick try on to make sure it has the right fit.

What can I say? I want to knit a bazillion of these. I know I’ll knit at least one more and it will be for me because I already have the yarn for that in my stash.

In my never ending quest to play with my new Tunisian / Afghan crochet hooks I started an afghan. This afghan is super cool: The squares are crocheted one at a time but they are crocheted together at the same time, not sewn later. This means that, when I finish the afghan, there will be very little finishing to do. I can even weave in ends as I crochet. It is like a magical afghan. I’ve made one of my own personal changes: I’m making a bigger one because the original pattern is for a baby afghan. I got the pattern and learned the technique from a Spanish-language YouTube video. I will link to the video very soon because either on Friday or on the weekend I plan to blog about videos, so keep your eyes out for that. Anyway, I’ve digressed. Here’s my progress on this afghan that I want to make thousands of with all kinds of different color combinations:

Making this afghan is also a fulfillment of one of my life-long wishes. I’ve known how to Tunisian crochet since I was about 14 years old but never actually had the chance or time to sit down and make a big project with it. I’ve made some small projects, but ever since I was a kid and learned how to crochet Tunisian Simple Stitch from a stitch dictionary lying around the house I’ve wanted to make an afghan. I was always told, “well, it uses up too much yarn, yadda yadda yadda.” I’ve stopped caring about how much yarn it uses up. It’s worth it. I feel like I was born to Tunisian crochet and I’m having so much fun with this project I wish I had got around to doing this sooner.

I hope you’re having as much super awesome fun as I am with your WIPs. I haven’t felt this energized while knitting and crocheting for quite a while. I must say it has its drawbacks. For example, when it’s time to make dinner I don’t feel like it because it takes time from my working on my WIPs.

6 thoughts on “Crack that WIP!

  1. MrsCraft January 25, 2017 / 11:32 pm

    Loving the Tunisian crochet and the yarn for your sweater. I’m skipping WIP Wednesday this week in the hope I might get a finished object Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp January 25, 2017 / 11:37 pm

      Thank you! I really hope Rowan makes more color ways of the “washed” variety. So far they have “Red Wash” and “Green Wash” and I want to try the red one in the future. I’d love to see a blue or purple wash. I’ll keep sending you the positive waves to get that project done, whichever one it is. I suspect it’s one of the two afghans, each of which is really lovely. I know you don’t enjoy the colors on the caravan one, but I think they’re awesome. I also love the ripple afghan. Can’t wait to see which project is the star FO! I’ll have no FOs for Friday and that’s just fine.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MrsCraft January 25, 2017 / 11:43 pm

        I like the washed colours. I’m hoping to get some Stylecraft batik soon which I like as the colours are slightly muted. I’m working on the border of the little afghan now, though I chose a complicated one so it may take some time!

        Liked by 1 person

      • tonymarkp January 25, 2017 / 11:52 pm

        Have fun with your Stylecraft yarn! I want to try some out myself. Believe it or not, it’s “exotic yarn” for me since I never heard of it until I started ordering things from the UK.

        Like

Leave a Reply

