Terminated Tuesday

On Thursday I talked about my FOs and WIPs and complained about how I, the weather, the time of day, and the stars did not coincide correctly to get some nice photos suitable to use in this blog. If I couldn’t have my complete “Friday FOs” post last week, I’ll make up for it this week with a “Terminated Tuesday.” I actually got my prettier photography done on Sunday, but you know, I have a day job so I have not, until now, been free to blog.

To review: Last Thursday I said I had finished a crocheted sweater and an afghan.

I’ve never discussed the afghan on the blog. This is mostly because it isn’t much to write home about. Or so I thought when I was very slowly working on it. You see, the yarn is very cheap acrylic from the dollar store. It’s rather chunky and makes for quick work. When I was crocheting the squares and looked at them from time to time I said, “meh” to myself. They’re just plain, old-fashioned granny squares. But then I put the squares together and I said, “I love this afghan!” You decide, my dear readers. Does this afghan make the grade or does it look like a cheap old acrylic beast?

afghan

It took me about six months to finish this thing, but it really shouldn’t have. I didn’t enjoy crocheting it much so I often set it aside to work on things I liked. I only got excited about it when I stitched the squares together.

About two days after I returned home from America I finished the crocheted sweater I had started back in Maine. I’m late calling it “finished finished” because I waited a week and a half to block it. It’s a Peter Franzi design and I blogged about it last month. I had plenty of nice, cozy sport weight wool to crochet it with from the stash formerly known as mine – I passed a good portion of my American stash to my sister when I moved to Spain. Since I had so much extra wool, I decided to give the sweater about eight inches of ease because I could just imagine myself wearing it over several layers of clothing on an icy day taking a walk. I haven’t worn the sweater yet, but I have tried it on and I think I can fit maybe three or four layers under it comfortably. Here it is in all its large glory:

crochetedsweatertoblog

I can’t wait to go hiking in this comfy warm wool sweater.

5 thoughts on “Terminated Tuesday

  1. MrsCraft January 24, 2017 / 11:28 pm

    I love your afghan, the dark background makes the colours pop! šŸ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp January 24, 2017 / 11:36 pm

      Thank you! This is exactly why I got excited about it when I was joining the squares together. My vision for it was becoming a reality and somewhere in the middle I lost sight of my original plan. Crocheting the squares was not the same. I think I was getting tired of using black yarn.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MrsCraft January 24, 2017 / 11:39 pm

        I get you! I rarely make things involving making a gazillion of the same thing because I just get fed up and then I still have to deal with the ends and join them!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

