Things Thursday

Yesterday I wanted to post something along the lines of “Wednesday WIPs” but the weather did not cooperate. I feel like I live in Mordor. Gray gray gray. No matter how I tried I just didn’t manage to successfully photograph a WIP.

Last weekend I was happy to use some Rowan Pure Wool Superwash Worsted to cast on an Alec XL sweater for José. If you check out my Ravelry project page for it, you’ll see that I took a pic of the work in progress, but there isn’t much to deduce from the photo because I live in Mordor. I took a picture for the Ravelry projects page just because I hate creating a new project there without something visual. If I look at my projects on Ravelry and some are lacking photos I think my projects page looks sort of sad and incomplete with all those gray squares under the titles.

Also, I’ve decided to retrieve my crocheted afghan of hexagons from the dark recesses of my UFO bin area. While doing so I decided to clear out a cupboard in the living room for it, along with all the yarn I’m using to work on it. That way I can just grab some random colors and crochet a motif or, if I’m in the mood, grab the afghan and the gray yarn and join motifs.

I have FOs to share, too, but again, the weather is not cooperating. I finished my crocheted sweater about two weeks ago, and just two days ago I finished an afghan that I was crocheting and actually never talked about on the blog. The crocheted sweater was quite an achievement, given that I started it back home in Maine with some very ancient stash I had given away only to have it returned to me in a bright idea my sister had. I’ve always knitted my sweaters and so this was a famous first for me crocheting the sweater. Also, it came out exactly how I wanted it: super over-sized. After blocking it, I tried it out and yes, indeed, I can wear at least four layers of clothes under it, so it’s sort of like a pullover coat. Hopefully the Hobbits will soon complete their mission and throw the damned ring into the fire and the darkness of this world shall dissipate, allowing me to photograph my projects in a pleasant and accurate manner. At this point, even if I dragged all my knitting and crochet outside the photos would be more suitable for a horror movie than a blog about crafting and yarn.

I’ve also been shopping for yarn again. After my last class I walked directly to an LYS in this gloomy city to buy some yarn for an afghan project I’m itching to begin. It’s yet another excuse to play with my new afghan hook set.

8 thoughts on “Things Thursday

  1. MrsCraft January 19, 2017 / 10:55 pm

    Your weather sounds similar to ours! Such a shame it’s stopping you from photographing your work, I shall be keeping an eye out for the photos when the weather improves!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp January 19, 2017 / 11:02 pm

      Thank you! Until I take a photography class and / or improve my equipment this is my blogging life! I have improved with photos over the years, but for some reason (I think I’m a fuss budget) I like my photos best with some good natural lighting.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MrsCraft January 19, 2017 / 11:05 pm

        This is one reason why I bought my light box from amazon. It’s no good for big projects though. The light in our conservatory is perfect for photos in summer but not winter as I’m at work the whole time it is light for most of winter!

        Liked by 1 person

      • tonymarkp January 19, 2017 / 11:16 pm

        I saw your post about the light box and I hopped onto Amazon to investigate last month. I like the idea and I’m going to order one. It will help tons in winter. This week I had to order work-related things from Amazon so it’s on my list for my next Amazon order. Also, since we’re talking about that, thanks for the inspiration. I had never heard of such a thing. This time of year, on a sunny day, I try photographing indoors by exposing the living room to as much sunlight as possible. The weather here is quite similar to where you live: icy, bitterly cold, and often gloomy. It also shares a lot of qualities with London (nothing but fog for three months). I actually have an English lesson about the weather and comparisons in which we compare Valladolid with London.

        Liked by 1 person

      • MrsCraft January 19, 2017 / 11:21 pm

        Glad that my post inspired you, it’s a faff to set up the light box every time but it does work! I like the idea of winter, but only the bit up to Christmas. After that it just feels like a bit of a slog to get to spring!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Talya January 20, 2017 / 11:22 am

        I made my own lightbox. 2 yards of white cloth, the biggest moving box I could find at the home imprevement store, some double-sided tape, and a few lamps with natural light light bulbs. Works great!

        Liked by 1 person

      • tonymarkp January 20, 2017 / 11:50 am

        Thank you for the tip, Talya! That sounds doable!

        Like

      • Talya January 20, 2017 / 12:12 pm

        If you want to go the DIY route- I used these instructions: http://www.instructables.com/id/Photography-Light-Box/

        My recommendation- don’t waste your time with the thin double-sided tape. Use the thick outdoor double-sided tape that you usually find in the paint/outdoor section, near the masking and painter’s tape. It will stand up much better to abuse.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

