Box stores can be fun

One of the things that I don’t get much of a chance to do while in Spain is to buy craft supplies at big box stores.  That’s because in the city where I live there aren’t any big chains that carry craft supplies. I am probably the last American knitter and crocheter on earth to discover Caron Yarn Cakes which can be found in Michael’s craft stores. I got lucky and found some on sale after Christmas for $5.00 a “cake.”

This yarn could disappoint a yarn snob. As a borderline yarn snob I admit that the 80% acrylic, 20% wool sort of made me frown for a moment but the self-striping colors were enough temptation in the end. Rather than take a picture of the ones I bought it could be fun to just click over to the informational link about them: https://www.michaels.com/caron-cakes-yarn/M10481921.html

The link referenced above also provides another link to a PDF file with patterns to knit and crochet with the yarn. If you take a look at them you will see that the stripes are quite long and, so, using the very basic patterns may not exploit the yarn’s color qualities the way you would like. A Michael’s employee, in fact, expressed her opinion to me: ” I’d prefer something more variegated than this so I was slightly disappointed when I knit up my project.”

I decided to buy two cakes anyway because I want to make up a couple of my own designs using this stuff. I’ve noticed, for example, that the patterns in the PDF are written for making something from the bottom up. Why not make something from side to side? You could also divide the cake in half knitting or crocheting stripes alternating one end of the skein with the other. I see lots of possibilities with this yarn and I can’t wait to get it home and play with it. Of course, I will enthusiastically share my results. 🙂

Another of my box store guilty pleasures are the skeins of Lily Sugar n’ Cream cotton yarn. I bought four skeins to add to my collection. 

Also, I discovered that Boye crochet hooks are still just a dollar and some change so I decided to see if I could collect all the letters for the metal hook sizes. In case you didn’t know and read this blog from somewhere not American (as I usually write it!), U.S. hook sizes are lettered if they aren’t for lace or thread. I discovered that the letters go as far as “Q” but at that size they are plastic and pricier. On this trip I have managed to collect sizes B to I to accompany their J and K cousins at home. Who knows? They probably have twins, too. Unfortunately I did not check my hook collection before I left home.

3 thoughts on “Box stores can be fun

  1. MrsCraft January 5, 2017 / 8:52 am

    The caron’s cakes look really lovely, I’ve seen a few projects made using them on a crochet Facebook page. I’ve also head good things about Lily’s Sugar and Cream. Have fun making!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bonnyknits January 5, 2017 / 9:49 pm

    I’ve pondered those Cakes too, since the colors are so pretty. I’ll be interested to see how you like working with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

