Getting ready to Grinch

Today I have taught a lot of English classes but I have time and energy for a mid-week blog post. I don’t have any photos to share because although I’ve been knitting there isn’t a lot of good lighting to take halfway decent pictures. I’m almost done with my mom’s shawl I’m giving her for Christmas and I’m just finishing a pair of gloves for my partner (he needs a pair of gloves ASAP, it’s getting super cold here).

As many knitters know, The Knitmore Girls Podcast holds an annual “Grinch-a-long” with some very interesting rules. To participate, you can’t knit anything for Christmas this year and you have to spend the holiday season doing something that gives you joy beginning December 1. The concept is really cool. Many knitters this time of year are feverishly trying to get knitted gifts done before December 25. I abandoned this kind of activity about two years ago but last year I couldn’t qualify to participate in the Grinch-a-long because I worked on a Christmas gift in December. I absolutely was not swamped with self-imposed Christmas knitting last year it was just that I got very unenthusiastic about the project and put it in time out for too long in November. This year I am totally pumped! I haven’t committed myself to Christmas knitting on the scale that I have in the past and I managed to start the two Christmas gifts I will be giving people way ahead of time so I’ll be Grinching.

Technically, the Grinch-a-long is considered a contest but for me it’s been a goal to participate because in the past I have pretty much ruined the Christmas season for myself by forcing myself to knit gifts for too many people. The funny thing is that no one really minds if you don’t knit something for them unless you tell them ahead of time you’re going to knit something for them (that was never my case, even weirder). In fact, reflecting upon Christmases past I honestly cannot say why or how I got the idea stuck in my head that I had to knit for as many people as possible for Christmas. Anyway, I’m not going to get all competitive about it. I’m just going to enjoy the fact that I will be able to participate in the fun and commiserate with my fellow Grinches.

Another thing that is getting me excited for the Grinch-a-long is that I’ll be able to get Grinchy in the United States. I haven’t been home for Christmas to see my family in a very long time. There’s just something cool about participating in an event that originates in America and also being in the same country. I really can’t say why because people from all over the world listen to the Knitmores and participate in their events and contests. I suppose it could be related to the fact that I listen to podcasts to keep myself connected to my native language and culture while living in another.

Is anyone else going to participate in the Grinch-a-long this year?

3 thoughts on “Getting ready to Grinch

  1. MrsCraft November 21, 2016 / 10:04 pm

    I won’t be as I’m making a gift for my two Godsons and I won’t be done in November. It seems a good idea though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp November 21, 2016 / 10:24 pm

      It’s been a total experience for me to commit myself to qualifying for this. I sort created my own Christmas hole and I feel like by doing this I’m totally out, if that makes sense. I am very certain that your two godsons will be very deserving recipients of your wonderful handmade goods. You are multi-skilled and make such beautiful things.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MrsCraft November 21, 2016 / 11:08 pm

        Thank you, what a lovely thing to say. It’s easy to get into a rut by planning to make so many things and then not enjoying it as it’s so rushed. I’ve pared my list down a bit as I realised I’d got carried away.

        Like

Leave a Reply

