A new mosaic bag

I’m sorry if you thought this blog died. It did not. As always, the beginning of the school year was crazy and I just couldn’t stay awake at night to write a blog post. It really doesn’t matter because I didn’t have a lot of news about my knitting and crochet to write about, anyway. Now that my schedule has reached a normal level of school year activity and my email and phone are back to their quiet selves it’s time to report on what I’m up to.

One of the things I did during the crazy start to teaching this year was permit myself some online yarn shopping therapy. I’ll talk about that later in another post because I’ve already cast on a project with the yarn I bought.

Another thing I did was finish a knitting project. I’m not sure if anyone remembers, but a while back I posted a sample of mosaic knitting I finished and I said I was figuring out what I could do with that square. Well, the answer came to me when a friend of mine and I agreed to make bags for each other. The colors are totally her (bright neon yellow, pink, and orange). So, I got busy on making another mosaic square. Then, I knit the squares together, gave the bag a cylindrical shape by applying a round bag bottom to it, and finished the top off with some fagoting and an icord. I had some canvas fabric that matched the colors perfectly so I lined the shoulder strap and the bag body with that. And here it is in all its finished glory:

Readers with really good memories might be able to guess that I based my work on my Spare Pocket bag pattern. The only things I did differently were: 1) make it a bucket-style bag by adding a circle to the bottom instead of a thin rectangle; 2) make a drawstring closure for it.

My friend lives in Madrid so in the coming weeks we’ll meet up and do our exchange. I can’t wait to see how the one she worked on came out. I’ll love it because I know that it will be rag crochet.

It’s great to be back and blogging again. Happy knitting and crocheting!

2 thoughts on “A new mosaic bag

Leave a Reply

