Straight to the trash

I promised I would write about my bad news when it isn’t American Independence Day. It’s July 5th so, here it is: remember those blue Kalajoki socks I was happy to be working on? They’re gone. In the garbage. Being dealt with at the Valladolid Province Waste Treatment Center.

And I don’t feel one bit bad about it. Annoyed, yes, but regrets? Nope.

This is the first time in my life I’ve ever thrown away a knitting project. There’s always been a way to save my knitting from any problem or catastrophe. This time there was nothing more to be done because of THE YARN GRRRRRRRR.

About the yarn: It was Regia 4-ply sock yarn. It was beautiful and soft. I’ve knitted socks with this yarn before and it has always been wonderful to work with it. But, as we all know, sometimes we get a bum skein of something. In this case, the yarn was just falling apart. I’m not sure why. I rewound the skein into a center-pull ball so maybe I put too much stress on it with my winding. On the other hand, the yarn was very happy to cooperate with me halfway down the leg of my socks. By the time I got to the heel flap the yarn just started to fray and become thinner and essentially disintegrate. It’s the weirdest thing that’s ever happened to me. I will in the future use Regia sock yarns of course. It is very atypical for this to happen, maybe a once in a lifetime thing. I can hope, right?

So, that’s my bad news. If I hadn’t bought that skein with the actual intention of knitting a pair of Kalajokis with it I wouldn’t be so irritated. But, what can a knitter do? If the yarn is defective, it’s not salvageable. Socks knit from a nylon thread aren’t very warm and that’s what I was being left with, nylon thread without any wool. I’ll just have to shop around for another bright blue skein of sock yarn and start over again.

For me, this situation is funny. I really wish now that I had taken a picture of the project in the trash for us all to contemplate and make snarky comments. I remember last week when I threw it away I just stared at it sitting in the bucket laughing like a crazy person because I never, ever in my whole entire life imagined myself doing such a thing.

Has this ever happened to you?

One thought on “Straight to the trash

Leave a Reply

