This time it’s sleeves first

So, as many of my wonderful readers know, the sweater I recently completed got me down when it was time to knit the sleeves. It’s the nature of the knitting beast: far too many of us hate sleeves. As a matter of fact, I remember my mother letting a few sweaters of hers become vests when I was younger.

Anyway, it’s also the nature of the top-down beast: when you knit a sweater from the top downward the sleeves are picked up around the armholes. This forces the sleeves to be one of the last things you knit.

On the contrary, the nice thing about knitting a seamless yoke sweater from the bottom upwards is that you can start with the sleeves because the sleeve stitches are incorporated into the yoke. This is also true for knitting raglan sweaters in the round bottom-up.

So, I’ve decided to start with the sleeves and get them over with. This way, when I finish the sweater, the last thing I will have knit will be the collar and I’ll be all happy. The knitting is going pretty quickly because I finally decided to learn the magic loop method of knitting in the round. I followed the Craftsy tutorial. With this lesson I learned how to knit on a magic loop in about ten minutes. I have no idea why I thought it would be harder to learn. I hadn’t even bothered to look it up before.

The pattern I’m following is from Leisure Arts and it’s called the “Star Motif Sweater” which is available for download from the web site. As you can see, it’s a vintage pattern. Also, be warned: the pattern instructs you to knit the lower body and the sleeves flat. It’s easy for me to convert it into a circular project because the yoke is knit in the round. I just want my readers to know this before they dive in and buy the pattern. I’m simply not following the pattern because I think it’s quite silly to start from the bottom flat and then knit the yoke in the round and do all that sewing.

My yarn of choice is Cascade 220. The main color, which is sort of tan, in the picture at the top, is #1208. The star motif on the yoke will be in #8555 and #9557, which are a black and dark brown. I’ve made a project page for it on Ravelry, too.

This sweater is not for me. It’s going to be my partner’s Christmas gift.

3 thoughts on “This time it’s sleeves first

Leave a Reply

