The Doily Abyss

I have fallen into the doily abyss. There’s nothing that can convince me to work faster on my sweater. I’ve crocheted two more of Patricia Kristoffersen’s designs: “Memorable” from Simply Delightful Doilies  and “18” from The Best of Patricia Kristoffersen which, according to Ravelry, also appears in Coffee ‘n Cream Doilies. I also have the Coffee ‘n Cream book but I didn’t notice the pattern also appears there.

Here’s “Memorable:”

Photo Apr 25, 2 05 14 PM

I definitely want to make this doily again. I really like how the front post crochets outline the flower design in the middle.

I want to make “18” again as well simply because it’s a simple beauty. It is not complicated at all to crochet this doily and the stitch patterns used (especially the filler that goes around the final round of pineapples) are very interesting. As a matter of fact, I learned a lot about the usefulness of chains in creating a fascinating overall look. You could say that in knitting this type of stitchery would be related to fagoting in its appearance. Check it out:

Photo Apr 30, 5 59 01 PM

Now that I’m older and haven’t looked at these patterns in over a decade, I can appreciate these older patterns a whole lot more. I have to say that Patricia Kristoffersen’s doilies are unique for two simple reasons: 1) she sometimes adds a third dimension to their shape with more stitches than simply popcorns; the front and back post stitches on some of them make them outstanding experiments in texture; 2) she uses combinations of chains and single crochets, or the single crochet stitch alone, to make interesting stitch patterns.

I also have some news about my sweater: I did in fact knit some on the first sleeve. I’ve got about 3/4 of a sleeve done. So, maybe in a couple of weeks I’ll be talking about how I finished my sweater.

3 thoughts on “The Doily Abyss

  1. daniellajoe May 2, 2016 / 10:39 am

    I love doilies too and pineapples, really nice work 😀

    Like

    • tonymarkp May 2, 2016 / 2:31 pm

      Thank you! I am “hooked” on crocheting doilies once again so I think I’ll always be working on socks and doilies!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

