I have some sewing skills!

This week is Holy Week, which means that in Spain on most days everything’s closed and people are on vacation. Being one of the lucky ones who gets some days off work I had time to play with my sewing machine. I’ve been wanting to make myself a bucket bag that stands up so I can tote around my projects and also pull on my ball of yarn without it rolling all over the place. And so, with some leftover fabric from when I made some throw pillows, I came up with this:

Photo Mar 24, 7 17 46 PM

I also made bags for two knitter friends of mine:

I got the basic idea from this video, which shows you how to make a bucket bag: https://youtu.be/uLlHY_BZHxI

I wanted the bag to stand up on its own, so I chose some medium-strength fabric. Also, I did not want sewn lines all around the top and I didn’t feel like sewing on any facing, so I chose to use canvas fabrics that are the reverse of each other (as in the first black and white example) or canvas fabrics with the same prints in different color schemes (as for the two bags I made for my friends). I didn’t want pockets or anything like that because I hate knitting bags with pockets and I didn’t want zippers, either. The bags close with a drawstring. In the video tutorial I linked to above, the drawstring is applied by punching holes into the fabric with metal rings. I decided, instead, to sew two loops onto the bag, one on each end under the shoulder straps. My friends are getting fabric drawstrings. I made a kumihimo braided cord for my bag’s drawstring.

The best part of all is that it only took me about two hours to make each bag, they cost me roughly $3 each, and they are designed exactly for my needs. As you may know, there are knitting bags on the market that can cost as much as $100 (or sometimes more).

I’m also pretty sure that, now that I’ve figured out the process, making these bags will take me even less time in the future.

 

 

3 thoughts on “I have some sewing skills!

  1. Studio JF March 27, 2016 / 6:07 pm

    Nice work my friend!! I knitted a little bit this long weekend and I did a little bit of sewing as well. I can’t wait for the next Quedada.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tonymarkp March 27, 2016 / 6:31 pm

      Thank you! I’m so happy you’re coming to the next one. Yay!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

