When I procrastinate on my sweater

I haven’t been paying much attention to the sweater I was knitting. It’s because of the SLEEVES! I hate knitting sleeves. While the sleeves await me I’ve been knitting a reversible hat with fire on it. I think I’ll call it the “Fire Brim” hat. Check it out:

I used Paton’s Wool DK, a superwash yarn. It took about a skein and a half of each color. I lifted the color work pattern from a newborn hat chart that’s available on Ravelry. If you want to make yourself a hat (either stranded or double knit), here’s the link to the free pattern: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/flame-on Just remember that the pattern as it is available on Ravelry is written for a baby so, if you want an adult-sized one you’ll need to slap the flames onto an adult sized hat. If you double knit the hat you won’t need any ribbing, which is pretty cool. I made mine slouchy-style. I think next I’ll make some mittens to match since I have plenty of yarn left over.

3 thoughts on “When I procrastinate on my sweater

  1. greenmamatay February 15, 2016 / 8:28 pm

    Cool looking hat! Does “double knit” create the reversible effect?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tonymarkp February 15, 2016 / 9:25 pm

    Double knitting is a technique for creating reversible garments, but really what you’re doing is creating two fabrics. When you make a hat like this, it’s like knitting a tube inside a tube. Craftsy has a class on double knitting, I’ve got a couple of old posts on this blog about the subject, and you can check out this link for some info: http://knitting.about.com/od/colorknitting/ss/Double-Knitting.htm The basic idea is to knit with the yarns in the back and purl with them in front, but there are other methods to achieve the same effect, depending on if you’re working in the round or flat. I hope I’ve been helpful to you and you have fun sifting through the information you find. It’s one of those knitting things that looks magical when you didn’t know about it and then, when you learn how, it’s like, “science!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

