Two hats in three days

For Christmas I got Crochet One-Skein Wonders by Judith Durant and Edie Eckman. I have a few of the other books in this series that are for knitting and I want to make many things from those books. I love the series and I think everyone should get them. They really help with finding things to do with single skeins.

Many patterns from the crochet book are also on my to-do list. I decided to make Yvonne Cherry’s “Tunisian Croc Rock Cap” now because my knitting club is doing a hat CAL / KAL and it just looked fun to crochet. I was not disappointed. It is SO MUCH FUN TO CROCHET THIS HAT. First of all, it’s interesting to make because it requires two types of crochet: Tunisian for the brim and then rounds of single and half double crochet for the crown. Secondly, it’s easy. Finally, it creates interesting effects with multicolored yarn because the brim is crocheted flat and the crown is crocheted in the round. I loved crocheting it so much I made two. The first one I made was with a chunky yarn with irregularities in the thickness: Katia Stratos. I wore it as soon as I finished it:

  
Then I made another with self-striping Katia City:

  

Leave a Reply

