Dollar Store Knitting and Crochet, part 3

For Christmas I got the book Beyond the Square by Edie Eckman, a book with patterns for about 144 crocheted motifs. It is awesome. It has all kinds of interesting motifs that aren’t just squares. I found a hexagon pattern that looked quite promising to me and I decided to use my dollar store yarn to make an afghan. I’m discovering that this is a nice, cheap way to experiment with color. Here’s my progress so far:

Photo Jan 27, 1 35 27 PM

I like this motif because it offers lots of opportunities to play with color combinations. So far, I’ve tried up to three different colors in a hexagon. As you can see, I’m crocheting the motifs together as I go using gray yarn. I’ve decided to put some concentrated splashes on the blanket in random places.

Anyway, I’m having fun with this project because it’s just satisfying to try different combinations. Here are some close-ups of the multi-colored hexagons:

 

6 thoughts on “Dollar Store Knitting and Crochet, part 3

  1. greenmamatay January 27, 2016 / 4:44 pm

    Your afghan is going to be so cute! I wish my dollar store sold yarn! Is the yarn of good material? Do you soften your yarn? I’ve read a few different ways to do this.. I have not experimented with it yet.

    Like

    • tonymarkp January 27, 2016 / 7:28 pm

      It’s recycled acrylic. It is super soft as it is. I like it because it’s made out of materials that would otherwise be in a landfill and it’s cheap enough to have just about all the available colors. I’ve never softened yarn before.

      Liked by 1 person

      • greenmamatay January 27, 2016 / 9:50 pm

        I have debated softening my yarn after my work is finished, but never do it. I don’t see much point in it, unless I’m giving it to someone with sensitive skin.

        Like

    • tonymarkp January 27, 2016 / 7:29 pm

      And thank you for the positive vibes! I hope the final results are nice.

      Like

      • greenmamatay January 27, 2016 / 9:51 pm

        I’m sure it will look great! I have tried to start afghans, but I never finished them. I have two WIP afghans in my WIP box. Haha.

        Like

Leave a Reply

