Can you believe I’ve never knitted socks with rainbow yarn?

Knitting some socks with rainbow yarn is a first for me. I have no idea why, really. All these years I’ve been knitting (lots of socks) and it never occurred to me to do it. A while ago, perhaps thinking about this (I can’t remember) I bought some Regia sock yarn that is rainbow and I also bought some sock yarn from the Danish chain store Tiger with the same color theme. When I casted on my vanilla socks, I chose the Tiger yarn and also decided to start them from the toe.

A long time ago, my go-to vanilla sock pattern was always Kate Atherley’s Basic Ribbed Socks. It is, as the designer says in her pattern, interesting enough to knit but not so hard you have to pay attention to it all the time. Since I’ve always had to alter that pattern to make bigger socks for my wider feet, a couple of years ago I just gave up all together on using her pattern and went with my own vanilla sock design, which very happily lives in my brain. That vanilla sock formula in my brain is leg down, though. So, now I’m working out my own toe-up vanilla formula. I’ve decided to do this because sometimes it’s useful to knit toe-up, especially if you’re not sure if you have enough yarn to finish a pair: make the legs slightly shorter and suddenly, you have enough yarn, anyway.

The Tiger sock yarn, which leans towards the “too much polyamide” end of the spectrum for me (25%), is beautifully colorful nonetheless, and, actually, you don’t even notice the synthetic portion. Another thing I like about this yarn is that it’s made of wool that we really all SHOULD be knitting socks with. It’s sturdy.

Here’s the beginning of my toe:

Photo Jun 23, 3 26 33 PM

Happy rainbow colors, just in time for summer.

Leave a Reply

