When knitting a gansey, patience is a virtue

I don’t have much to report on the knitting front. I’m knitting the first sleeve — the left one actually — of the Arguyle gansey. It’s pretty slow going, mostly because I have to work a lot which leaves me little time for knitting. Hope of finishing it soon is not all lost, however: it’s Holy Week, which means in Spain there are days this coming week when I won’t have to work at all. I plan to start my knit-a-thon in about an hour from now. With some luck, I’ll have that left sleeve of the pullover done by the end of the day and tomorrow I can start working on the right sleeve.

The sad part of not getting my gansey done is that the weather has gotten warm. I know, who ever curses the warmer spring weather? Maybe only knitters like me who are working on a sweater and want to wear it ASAP. Also perhaps knitters like me who want to finish the sweater and return to a wool mosaic blanket that is waiting to be knitted on in a plastic box. Valladolid weather in the Spring is pretty unpredictable, though, so I think I have a handful of cold days left after this warm spell.

Whenever I’ve had a few spare minutes I’ve been perusing through my collection of vintage patterns because this summer I’m going to do quite a bit of crochet and sewing. There are several filet crochet patterns I want to make.

I also think that I’ll be knitting plenty of socks this summer, actually. For warm weather knitting socks is ideal. You can tote them around and they’re not large pieces that eventually begin to cover a large part of your body when they grow.

During the week I’m sure to run across a procession. If I do, I’ll be sure to snap some photos and post them. I’m pretty sure I haven’t blogged about Holy Week in Valladolid before. It’s quite inconvenient, actually, if you need to get somewhere and the streets are backed up because of a procession. On the other hand, it’s also a tradition that has lots of art on the move in the parades: traditional dress, sculptures, music, and movement.

Leave a Reply

