Christmas knitting: CHECK!

As I’ve mentioned before, I live in Spain. Here, most families and friends exchange gifts on January 6th, the Epiphany, rather than on December 25th. Spanish children, however, are always excited on Christmas morning because Santa Claus (or, as they fondly have named him, Papá Noel) always leaves them plenty of toys. Children in Spain, though, get another day of gifts from the Three Magi on January 6th, which is why in Spanish we call it El día de los Reyes Magos.

I’ve completed everyone’s Christmas gifts (actually, my Reyes gifts) with plenty of time to spare! Actually, I finished them all a week ago. Why haven’t I been excited to report about this until now? Sometimes a picture speaks louder than words:

There has been nothing but fog and dark clouds here for about two weeks. It was impossible to take really good photos of my knitting. As a matter of fact, I became so desperate that I entertained the idea of blogging about my finished Christmas knitting by describing what I made and omitting the photos. Luckily, the sun came out this morning. According to the weather forecast we’re in for some sunny days this coming week. 
So, this morning, I drank my coffee, gathered up my blocked and dried items, took them outside, posed them on a bench in the Plaza de Santa Cruz, and happily photographed them. 
Firstly, I’m pleased to introduce you to “Pico Bandito,” a crocheted scarf pattern by Jon Averett:
For this project I used a couple of skeins of Oso Blanco “Amore” fingering weight yarn and, as you might see in my Ravelry Project Information page, I used more yarn than the pattern indicates. I used a smaller hook and so I needed more yarn. I crocheted it in three days. Now that I’ve followed the pattern exactly as it is written I want to make another scarf with a different stitch pattern. It’s truly beautiful when the directions are followed exactly as written, though. Rows of nothing but double crochet can be quite beautiful.
Another gift I made with a free pattern is the “Sweet Memories Cowl” by Jacinta:
I used some Katia Oxford to knit this up very quickly, in about two days. The stitch pattern is very easy to memorize and the results are lovely when using a variegated yarn such as the one I chose for this project.
Someone else very special is going to get a pair of wool striped socks. I simply followed my own personal pattern for vanilla socks and clipped away at my stash of Cigno Nero DK yarn. The wearer will be thrilled to have mismatched, striped socks. This is how they came out:

Finally, I made a pair of mittens for a very special someone, following the “Fremont” pattern by Annie Modesitt:

I am very blessed to have married into a family that appreciates my knitting. I already know, from past experience, that the people in my life who receive these handmade gifts will be delighted. And now, I’m going to work on some gloves for myself!

4 thoughts on “Christmas knitting: CHECK!

  1. Lydia Filgueras January 1, 2015 / 9:13 pm

    Feliz Ano! I found your blog by searching the term “yarn Valladolid.” My husband and I also live in the city. I've just taken up knitting in the last few months and I really love it. Crochet has become very difficult for me but knitting doesn't seem to bother my hands. I've read in another post of your frustration in searching for the perfect yarn and equipment. I know exactly what you mean! An added frustration for me is I'm by no means fluent in Spanish. Everyone is helpful, but it's intimidating to go into a shop. I have to drag my husband along to translate. At any rate, I'm ready to try my hand at knitted lace. I've done a few rudimentary pieces with acrylics and wool blends, but I'm again searching high and low for the perfect yarn, plus I'll need pins and wires for blocking. In another post you mentioned a few online shops, I'll give them a look.

    Like

  2. Tony January 1, 2015 / 9:30 pm

    Hi Lydia! You can also try http://www.loveknitting.com which offers free shipping within the EU for orders of 50 euros or more and has many yarns that you can't find in Valladolid. Thanks for your comment! If you'd like to practice your Spanish and knit you definitely should come to the Quedada Puce-lana!

    Like

  3. Straja January 8, 2015 / 2:01 pm

    Hello Tony! I'm Straja, your “Quedada Puce-lana” partner. As you said, you're very lucky because of your family. Not all people appreciate knitted projects, and think that they're easy and cheap… You've have done beautiful projects, specially I'm love with “Sweet Memories Cowl”.

    Ciao!

    Like

  4. Tony January 13, 2015 / 12:37 pm

    Thank you so much, Straja, for looking at my blog and for your feedback. It is really is a luxury to have people to knit for and who like the stuff you knit. I know so many people who sometimes feel misunderstood when they knit a gift for someone. The “Sweet Memories Cowl” is truly fun pattern to knit. I hope you have time to try it out some time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

