The Hello Kitty Cardigan is done!

I finally finished the cardigan I intended to make for a five-year-old’s birthday. She’ll get it for Christmas instead!

The sweater is a combination of Ofil Nabucco and Drops Nepal. The Ofil Nabucco yarn is a pink, sparkly wool-acrylic blend that I got in a secret surprise box at my knitting club. The Drops Nepal is this fluffy, alpaca-wool blend that is really soft and squishy. I bought the Hello Kitty buttons at a craft show.

All I did was follow the instructions for a child’s raglan sleeved cardigan in Ann Budd’s book The Knitter’s Handy Book of Sweater Patterns. I decided to use Brioche stitch, which left a faint, uneven line on the yoke. No problem! I crocheted chains of the contrasting Ofil yarn and wove it into the fabric. No ugly line and the sweater looks more interesting.

The collar, button band, and pink trim are done in garter stitch.

The wearer loves Hello Kitty and the color pink so I’m sure she’ll be enthusiastic about wearing this very warm winter sweater!

Leave a Reply

