Kalajoki Scarf

Here in Spain we exchange gifts on January 6th, “Three Kings Day” or, in Spanish, El día de los Reyes Magos. I needed to knit something fast.

The first thing I did was go to a local yarn shop and ask for the chunkiest yarn available. The woman at the shop Punto y Seguido, located on Calle Fray Luis de León, 21, was very helpful and readily showed me the colors she had in SMC select Highland Alpaca. This yarn is 50% Alpaca and 50% Merino Wool. I happily left the store with four balls of this furry, warm stuff.

When I got home I tried to decide what to do with this thick yarn. I wanted to make a scarf that looked good on both sides and that I could work through quickly. I remembered how much I enjoyed making Tiina Seppälä’s “Kalajoki” sock pattern and so the “Kalajoki” scarf was born. It’s now pinned down and drying on the blocking table, plenty of time in advance of January 6th:

Of course, I had to adapt the Kalajoki stitch pattern for knitting flat, since the chart has increases and decreases on even and odd-numbered rows. That was not an issue. When knitting on the wrong side I just purled two together through the back loops for every “SSK” symbol and purled two together through the front loops for every “K2tog” symbol. All my M1s on the wrong side were simply purled instead of knitted. Easy!
With this chunky yarn 18 stitches (the extent of the Kalajoki charts) is plenty wide enough. I added two extra stitches to have a chain selvedge edge on both ends. I began and ended the scarf with six rows of garter stitch to keep it from rolling up. Voilá! Kalajoki scarf!
I just repeated the Kalajoki chart until I began to run out of yarn. It doesn’t matter really where you end the scarf, just as long as you have the same number of stitches you began with. The great part is that this is basically a ribbed scarf with an interesting shape and texture, perfectly reversible. Check out the wrong side:
I really like this snaky, meandering scarf and I think the person who receives this gift will like it, too. 

Thank you, Tiina Sepälä, for sharing such a wonderful pattern with the world! It’s not only innovative, it’s adaptable!

Leave a Reply

