Craftsy is awesome!

Today for the first time I tried out Craftsy, an on line platform that delivers instructional videos for all kinds of crafts. I haven’t tried a paid course, but from what I’ve seen from the free mini classes I can tell that this is a top notch service.

So far I’ve watched all of “The Ins and Outs of Grafting” with Anne Hanson and half of “Know Your Wool” with Deborah Robson.

Yes, I know how to graft. However, I learned a lot from the grafting course that I didn’t know about. Her class begins with an explanation of what grafting is, what is appropriate to use it for, and shows you how to graft in stockinette, ribbing, and seed stitch. Hanson then shows you lots of advanced techniques: how to line up stitch patterns properly, how to mask the jog that can appear, and how to incorporate grafting into projects.

Robson’s “Know Your Wool” is so far excellent. I am learning so much about wool and sheep that I did not know. She actually takes you on a tour at a sheep breeding festival, interviews some sheep breeders, and takes you on a shopping trip for yarn. Her advice on how to plan designs keeping in mind the type of wool you’re using is extremely helpful. I also admire her swatching method and her manner of maintaining her swatch library. I’m going to finish watching the “Know Your Wool” tonight. Perhaps I will get serious about swatching, labeling, and organizing my swatches as well as Robson.

I would suggest that viewers not heed the “great for beginners” descriptions on some of the free mini classes. These videos, even though they are free and start with the basics, have valuable information in them that experienced knitters will learn. I’m actually blown away by the high quality of the free videos as well as their breadth and depth. When I can spend the $40 on a course I’m going to have a hard time deciding which course I want to take.

2 thoughts on “Craftsy is awesome!

  1. Yarndude August 5, 2013 / 8:18 pm

    Hi! I just found your blog today via Ravelry (I saw your post about your new sock pattern on the Men Who Knit group forum and essentially kept clicking links until I got to your blog.) I've added you to my reader and look forward to hearing more about your adventures in Spain. I've always dreamt of living there, pero temo que he olvidado la mayor parte de la lengua porque no he hablado en muchos años. Me encanta el arte y la arquitectura de España y quiero verlos con mis propios ojos un día.

    Like

  2. Tony August 6, 2013 / 6:13 pm

    Thanks! I hope you get to see Spain some day. Parece que no se te ha olvidado mucho el español.

    Like

Leave a Reply

