Last week when the temperatures dropped

It’s still too hot to knit big items, of course. As promised by the weather forecast it’s hotter than it was yesterday. Tomorrow it will be even hotter. Around here we say in Spanish “hace un calor que te torras” (“It’s so hot you’re roasting.”) My knitting hour is approaching. Jaywalker is waiting!

Last week when it was nice and cool I knocked off a few more rows of my mosaic blanket. Please accept my apologies for the yucky photo. I just couldn’t get enough light to shine on the darn thing in the right way so that the dark sections and the light sections could be equally visible. Anyway, Barbara Walker’s “Continued-Strip Mosaic Sampler” is just what I needed to whittle down the stash of acrylic yarn that the neighbor gave me. As you can see from my crummy photo you just go round and round and the blanket gets bigger and bigger:

The mosaic knitting patterns I’ve used so far, from the middle square outwards, respectively, are: “Arabesque, ” from Charted Knitting Designs: A Third Treasury of Knitting Patterns, “Wave,” from A Second Treasury of Knitting Patterns, and “Mosaic 40,” from A Fourth Treasury of Knitting Patterns.

I took a closeup of “Mosaic 40” to do it better justice. It just refused to show up well in a photo of the whole piece. Here it is:
As you can see from the pictures, as the blanket gets bigger the more scrunched up it gets when using flat needles. I could not, of course, get the center square to lie flat for a photo because of this. My next outer strip will be knit flat on a big circular needle, I think.
I will use this “pattern” for a blanket again (is it a pattern? perhaps a technique?). However, I will start with a smaller square in the middle next time to make it even more busy. This blanket is, aside from using up the acrylic yarn I’ve inherited, an excuse to try out whatever mosaic pattern from Barbara Walker’s books. I think it’s rather fun to just boldly use whatever colors on each strip, too. For each new round I close my eyes and grab two balls of yarn from the bin. For the first square and the first strip one of those balls happened to be white twice in a row. Look at what the third blind dive into the bin got me!
This blanket may have a future as a colorful, uncoordinated monstrosity, but it’s my monster. As a matter of fact, I’m sort of reveling in its potential to become a decoration disaster. It’ll definitely be something to casually use around the house, perhaps hidden from view, like a sinister knitting secret. Wahaha!

Leave a Reply

