I used up the brown "Caiman" Berger de France yarn I bought on sale

I decided to use it to make a diagonal rib lace scarf for someone really special . It was lots of fun to make and really easy to tame with some good old fashioned blocking.

I used the stitch pattern provided by Ann Budd in her The Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns. I’ll say that her book is indeed very handy. The other side of this scarf is also very attractive:
It’s so awesome on both sides that I can’t decide which one I like the most. I’d call both sides the “right side,” in fact. The best part is that the person who will receive this scarf doesn’t know that I still had yarn leftover from the liquidation sale I found. The last time I was at her house she asked me “It was a liquidation sale, huh?” I gave her daughter a scarf in a different color way for Christmas (a mixed violet color in Fisherman’s Rib) and she’s done nothing but rave about her daughter’s scarf, how warm it is, how lovely it is, etc.
My thoughts are that if it looks this fantastic on the blocking table it will look even better around her neck accompanied by a smile on her face. I can’t wait to give it to her. It’s one of those “no reason whatever” kinds of gifts. The best kind.

Leave a Reply

