I made a scarf in two days!

Thanks to Barbara Walker’s Treasury of Knitting Patterns I turned two extra balls of chunky yarn into a very nice, long scarf. I used the Italian Chain Ribbing stitch pattern. Just as Walker says this four row repeat looks like a very elegant ribbing when it’s knit at a tighter gauge. I used US size 9 needles to make this and I am very pleased with how it came out:

The yarn I used was Katia Maxi Merino superwash. I casted on 26 stitches and knit until I used up the two balls of yarn. The scarf is long enough to wrap around the neck three times!
As Walker points out this stitch pattern is good for scarves because the wrong side looks pretty decent:
It’s not great but it’s not ugly, either. The wrong side resembles a lace type of ribbing. Although OK it does not reach the level of elegance that the right side achieves:
Now that I’ve finished the scarf I wish I had thought of casting on with a fancy technique like the picot cast on. I could have binded off with the picot bind off to match the ends. Next time I’ll cast on and bind off with picots because I had so much fun making this scarf that I will make another one, probably with different yarn.
I am very thankful to  Barbara Walker for her four volume Treasury of Knitting Patterns. Anyone who loves to knit really should have this encyclopedia. It’s really pleasurable to use it for projects like this. I sat down with a cup of coffee, flipped through the pages of the four volumes and picked the stitch pattern I wanted to use for my scarf, casted on, and in no time I used spare yarn from my stash and made a beautiful gift. I’ve perused the Treasury volumes so many times. I always notice something I didn’t see before. For example, I noticed that the Italian Chain Ribbing stitch is very easy!

Leave a Reply

